a year of movies: year one

25 Jan

I’m not a big movie watcher, not nearly as I am a big book reader. But I like movies, so I’m not entirely sure why it is I don’t watch many. Last year I decided to watch more movies (and documentaries), so I did.

At least I think I did.

Honestly, I have no idea, really, because it was the first year I was keeping track.
But I definitely made a concerted effort to watch more movies, both at home and in the theatre, and I don’t regret it. Some are years, decades old that I never got around to seeing, some are new, all come with three thoughts/takeaways I had while watching.

What movies should I add to my To Watch list, Interwebers?

Movies I Watched + 3 takeaways from each

January 1, 2016-December 31, 2016

  1. Dallas Buyers Club*–1. Holy shit, is everyone scrawny in this movie. 2. I had no idea Jennifer Garner was in this film. 3. This movie was a lot longer than I thought–I’m not complaining, it was a good movie, just seemed very long.
  2. Seven Years in Tibet–1. Brad Pitt’s Austrian accent is just awful. 2. The fact that the Dalai Lama depicted in this movie is the same one who is still alive today blew my mind (it’s not hard to do). 3. I wonder if the Dalai Lama has seen this movie (since he’s such a big fan of movies) and what he thinks of it.
  3. Jurassic World–1. BD Wong! That’s two movies in a row with BD wong! 2. There is no way in hell that Clare could run around the whole g-d park and be chased by dinosaurs in those goddamn heels. WTF? She’d have been eaten within five minutes. 3. I know they’re fake, but the field of dying brontosauruses really broke my heart. I can’t even stand to think about it. Sad. Really sad. They are my favorite dinosaur.
  4. The Professional*–1. Gary Oldman plays creepy and crazy really, really well. 2. I like Natalie Portman better as a child actress, even though she has some Lolita-like moments in this flick. 3. I have never been as sad to see a hitman die as I was when Leon was taken out.
  5. American Experience: Murder of a President*–1. James Garfield was quite a dashing man in his youth. 2. It is fascinating to be reminded that there was a time when cleaning surgical devices and general medical equipment was not the norm, and it makes me want to shout at the television, “Just clean the wound, you daft doctor!” even though I know that will help no one. 3. Charles Guiteau was part of the Oneida community, but could never grasp the rules. So there’s that.
  6. Kung Fu Panda 3*–1. The more you gain, the less you have. 2. There really IS no reason to eat only one dumpling at a time. 3. Cartoon pandas remind me of my dog, and I have no idea why. Might be the “sad eyes,” like Puss in Boots, but in black and white.
  7. The Godfather*–1. A surprising lack of cursing in this movie. I must be jaded from today’s foul-mouthed movies that I find this so intriguing. 2. Oh, Talia Shire. Sheesh, dial it back a notch, your hysterics are not terribly believable. 3. This storyline was not what I was expecting at all.
  8. Trumbo*–1. Is it just me, or does Bryan Cranston’s voice in this movie sound like he could be auditioning for a Wurther’s Original commercial? 2. Diane Lane gets more beautiful with every year. 3. John Goodman. John Goodman! And of course his scene with the baseball bat will be what I will remember about this movie always.
  9. The Jungle Book* (The Jon Favreau live action film, not the Disney cartoon)–1. Why aren’t there any lions in the jungle? 2. After watching Idris Elba as Stringer Bell for so many seasons on The Wire, it’s a bit disconcerting to hear him speaking in his natural British accent. 3. Christopher Walken was a perfect choice to voice King Louie, and while I liked Bill Murray as Baloo, his rendition of “Bear Necessities” had nothing on Phil Harris’.
  10. Spotlight*–1. Stanley Tucci. Stanley Tucci! I feel about him the same way I feel about John Goodman: He makes every movie better. 2. I always find it fascinating when movie people can make such an intriguing, engaging movie out of something (working for a newspaper, even if you are an investigative reporter) that is not terribly interesting in real life. 3. The level of scandal in the Church is astounding, and disgusting, and who the hell is so drunk on power that it gets as deep and as far up as this one did? It’s revolting.
  11. Sisters–1. Tina Fey who talks like an irresponsible party girl is not terribly believable and feels like an over-drawn out SNL skit. 2. Dianne Wiest and James Brolin make this movie. 3. Maya Rudolph’s dancing outside while the dance routine to Informer is happening is phenomenal.
  12. Dope*–1. The soundtrack in this movie is everything. 2. I love Forrest Whitaker, even though you never see him. 3. There is a reason people no longer wear flat-tops and jean jacket vests. And that is because they are unflattering on everyone.
  13. Get Shorty*–1. Gene Hackman! I love Gene Hackman. I’d forgotten he was in this movie. 2. You know, I don’t think I’ve seen a lot of John Travolta movies, besides Grease, so to see him acting in something else is quite intriguing. He has a quiet way about him, of sorts, doesn’t he? 3. Holy crap–you can really tell how dated this movie is by the style of “Cadillac of Minivans.”
  14. Mad Max–Fury Road–1. About 95% of this movie seems to be one big atomic car chase. 2. There’s not so much dialogue as there is a lot of grunting. 3. I don’t think I need to see any more Max Max movies.
  15. The Infiltrator*–1. I was worried that this movie would be super violent or some such; thankfully, it’s not. 2. Bryan Cranston! Again! It’s like the Year of Bryan Cranston movies for me. Not that I’m complaining. 3. Oh, Benjamin Bratt. I do feel bad for you and your wife in this movie. I’m so sorry you’re a drug overlord.
  16. A Beautiful Mind*–1. Every time there was a shot of Russell Crowe’s character that was pulled back from him a little, I couldn’t help but think, “Man, he looks short and dumpy.” 2. So many ‘00 actors in this! Anthony Rapp! That guy from Dazed and Confused! Paul Bettany! It’s like a blast from the turn-of-the-century past! 3. The whole thing about Paul Bettany being an imaginary friend kind of blew my mind. Ed Harris? Yes, I could see that. But Paul Bettany I was not suspecting, and I was all, “WHOA.”
  17. Straight Outta Compton*–1. They got some really good lookalike actors for the roles of the NWA members. 2. I’m always fascinated by this time in music, because the rise of gangsta rap was around the same time as the rise of alternative/grunge/Seattle music scene. 3. How was this only nominated for best original screenplay?
  18. Wall Street–1. I can understand why Michael Douglas won the Academy Award for this movie, unless you are talking about the last 10 minutes, which fit with the rest of the movie not at all. (Seriously? Beating Charlie Sheen up in the middle of an open field in Central Park? Whatever.) 2. It’s always strange for me to see Martin Sheen in roles other than President Bartlet. 3. Daryl Hannah has the most expressionless face I’ve ever seen.
  19. Going Clear: Scientology and the Prison of Belief*– 1. That Scientology shit is fucked up. 2. I can see how people might get sucked into the beginnings of it–self-help stuff is always catchy and provocative to people who are searching for something in their lives (and I don’t mean that in a bad way). 3. I share a birthdate with L. Ron Hubbard, which I find mildly disturbing.
  20. My Friend Rockefeller–1. The word for “hoity-toity” in German is “itsy-pitsy.” 2. The directors make it seem like this con artist was intimately involved with the Rockefeller family, but he’s really not. Just tells people his last name is Rockefeller, and people believed him, and there’s not much into it beyond that. Disappointing. 3. Meh. So this guy was a con artist and probably killed a couple of people. Overall not as compelling of a documentary as I wanted it to be.
  21. Great Performances: Hamilton’s America*–1. I learned more about American history watching this making of the musical than I think I learned in all of my history classes combined. 2. Before watching this, I was lukewarm on seeing the show, but now I would jump at the chance and sell one of the cats for a ticket. 3. I love the guy who plays Thomas Jefferson, and (what I saw of) his portrayal of him in the show.
  22. Trolls*–1. WTF were the screenwriters on when they wrote this movie, seriously? 2. I will never hear the song “The Sound of Silence” the same again. 3. One of my favorite things about animated movies is identifying the voices, but for why was Gwen Stefani given such high billing when she has all of like one line?
  23. The Great Outdoors*–1. I miss you, John Candy. 2. I wish they still made Jeep Wagoneers. 3. Remember when you could say the word “shit” in a movie, and it could still be rated PG?
  24. August: Osage County–1. Jesus Christmas this movie is depressing. I seem to remember the trailers making it out to be humorous. It’s not. 2. Meryl Streep is the greatest actress of all time, isn’t she? She really is. 3. Who knew Benedict Cumberbatch was in this movie?!

 

*recommended

 

 

Leave a Reply

