what we have not

15 Jun

Recently, our internet was out for Four. Whole. Days.

It wasn’t pleasant.

I mean, sure, it wasn’t like we were on the Oregon Trail, and had run out of food by day two, and then everyone died of diphtheria or drowned in the river by hour 37, but then again, maybe we were, and maybe we did. I can’t really know, because we couldn’t actually play Oregon Trail because the internet was out.

It should be noted that there are benefits to being cutoff from the internet at home. So much you can get done! For instance:

  1. Clean the shit out of your house.
  2. Finally put together the album of pictures from your wedding that happened eight months ago.
  3. Call friends and catch up on their lives.
  4. Cook and bake your way through your File Pit.
  5. Take your dog on ridiculously long walks that will finally, finally tire her out so she doesn’t do zoomies around your one-bedroom condo at 11:30 at night.
  6. Catch up on the back issues of Time, The Economist, Real Simple, and HGTV magazine that are piled around your house.

Here is what I actually did:

  1. Looked at Pinterest on my phone.

And actually, I probably could have played Oregon Trail on my phone, but I didn’t, because I didn’t think of it until just now.

Granted, Swede did some of the things mentioned above, because he is a much better person than I. But me? No, I pretty much became one with the couch and lamented the lack of technology in our home, and called RCN on the regular to see when they would be restoring service. (Guess what? The original tech forgot to put in the order for a line tech to come and fix our stuff, so yay! Even longer delay.)

And then, in a quiet, unassuming change, our service was restored. I’m not sure how, or why, but we woke up a few mornings later and waa-la! Interwebs! No call from RCN saying they’d fixed it (in fact, the line tech didn’t come out until like, three days after that to fiddle with something in the box and called us to assure that All Was Right With Our Internet) (and then ended up getting stuck in our parking lot) (it’s a common occurrence). It was just there.

And our regularly scheduled chaos of life resumed, as if nothing had happened, no break had ever occurred.

And now, wouldn’t you know it, I’m missing those quiet days on my couch like they were my One True Love.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

