things i’ve been meaning to tell you: january 2016

13 Jan

One:

Last month something super exciting happened: The screen on my laptop went out.

Exciting!

Hence, to the Apple store I went, and had a conversation with their Geniuses, and sent my laptop out for repair while I tried not to panic out loud. (I didn’t even try to not panic internally.) (Listen, not having your laptop available is both liberating and terrifying, yes, kind of like when you don’t have a cell phone. But not having your laptop when you have a bunch of shit you need to get done for work and the holidays? There’s nothing liberating about that.)

So if you were wondering where I was in December, and why I wasn’t on the interwebs, well, there’s your answer. It’s not a sexy answer. I wish it was. I wish it was a tarted up answer along the lines of, “Oh, darling, I was entirely to busy traveling the globe and discovering a cure for cancer to type to you on the Interwebs.” But no. My laptop just went bonk.

Two:

I may have developed a mild addiction to Argo Tea. Their tea-puccinos are delightful, just delightful. They have a chocolate mint one that is akin to hot chocolate, but without the really thick cloying, stickiness of your typical cup of hot chocolate. Plus, they have a vanilla crème drink that is equivalent to a drink I used to consume vats of when I lived in DC—the London Fog at Politics and Prose.

 

Three:

In November (yes, I’ve been holding this latest bit inside me since NOVEMBER), I made my best time EVER in our annual Turkey Trot Pie Run. (It’s a 3.14 race, and then everyone gets a Sara Lee pumpkin pie at the end. Get it? Pi for Pie? Eh? Thanksgiving is so punny.) Like, seriously outdid myself for any 5K I’ve ever completed.

Which is weird, because the entire time I felt like I was running through molasses. I had been hoping to beat my time from last year by a few seconds, but I blew that sucker out of the water by about 3 minutes.

WTF? How is that possible? Did you not hear the part about me slogging my feet through the middle of a pecan pie?

So it’s entirely possible that my time chip was wrong.

That said, the question is now: Do I quit while my timing’s ahead and retire from turkey trotting? Because there is no way I will ever beat this year’s time. If I did, I would have to give up my job because I’d be inundated by requests from science as a proven miracle and also because I’d have to start training for the Olympics because I’d be a shoo-in to take gold in the Still Slow but Faster Than That Guy Over There 5K. (Obviously.)

Or do I continue on and just accept that I will never run as fast again?

The latter is quite tempting.

Four:

Thanks to an overnight with my nephews, I now know all of the correct words to God Bless America, and no longer have to mumble my way through the middle, and pipe up again at the “Stand beside her! And guide her!” part only to fall into a “Something something-da-da-da-do-be-doooo…” at the end. Well done, me.

Five:

Also in November (November!) I experienced another major accomplishment: I finished the scarf I started two years ago.

It’s a lovely scarf, the colors bright and vibrant. And man, is it warm! Which is great, because this is Chicago. (Cold.) (Duh.) Though it’s not, ehhhm…how shall I say, very even. I’ve taken to calling it my “tornado scarf” because it’s quite wide at the top and then slims down to the bottom, resembling a funnel. No matter. It’s warm, and let me tell you something about fair-skinned Irish/Polish girls: We look good in hot pink. But most important, I finally finished a g-d project I started.

That alone, Interwebers, is cause for celebration.

 

 

4 Responses to “things i’ve been meaning to tell you: january 2016”

  1. Solitary Diner January 13, 2016 at 2:18 PM #

    Do we get to see a photo of the tornado scarf?

    • mollystrz January 13, 2016 at 9:03 PM #

      Perhaps….stay tuned!

  2. Osancho January 13, 2016 at 2:23 PM #

    Did you laptop get fixed, and did they charge you?

    • mollystrz January 13, 2016 at 9:04 PM #

      Yes and yes

Leave a Reply

