photo friday: well loved

17 Jul

I pulled this gem from the pile as I was recipe-filing down memory lane earlier this week.

Mmmm....orzo....

Mmmm….orzo….

I believe it was originally a Rachel Ray recipe, but God knows I haven’t actually stuck to said recipe since, oh, the first time I made this. The Parm was immediately swapped out for feta, and chopped tomatoes, an entire onion, and an extra two cloves of garlic were added in, and the result was a fan favorite of many a TND.  When I think of my time living in DC, this orzo is one of the first things that comes to mind. Well, not this orzo written on the paper you see, but my aforementioned adaptation.

As this well-loved and smudged paper has always really been more of a guideline, I’m pretty sure the only reason I kept it around was because for the life of me I could never remember how much water (which I subbed instead of the prescribed stock) to use. (Which, the 1 3/4 cup of liquid was never enough anyway, and I always ended up adding at least a 1/2 cup more.) (I’m an orzo rebel!)

Nowadays I’d probably just look it up online over and over, but this was pre-smartphone era, Interwebers. I’m pretty sure I was illegally downloading songs from Limewire.*

*NOT THAT I EVER DID THAT (MAYBE), I AM A VERY GOOD AND UPSTANDING CITIZEN (KIND OF). 

Leave a Reply

