photo friday: wherein i reign it in for once in my life

9 Jan

2015 Books

Last year I mayhaps went a little overboard with book buying on our annual jaunt to Powell’s. While I regret nothing—nothing!—I will also tell you that in 2014 I read exactly none of the books I purchased.

I will also at this point confess to you that in the five years and approximately 20 books since Swede and I have being making our annual jaunt to Powell’s, I’ve read exactly one of the purchased books. (Plan B by Jonathan Tropper, if you’re curious.) I don’t know why this is. It’s not that I’ve lost interest in the other 19 purchased books. That’s not it at all. In fact, I see the purchased books every damn day when I look at our bookshelf that overflows with books and booze (as a good bookshelf does), and I think, oh, right! Jane Smiley! I should read her next. But then I get distracted by another book, usually a library book, and since books I own don’t have a due date, I guess some part of my brain just keeps pushing them off because what’s the rush? It’s kind of like writing a novel without having a book contract. If no one is expecting anything from me, I will take all fucking decade with this manuscript. But if an editor or agent were to give me a deadline? I’ll have it to you by Monday when you don’t even need it until Tuesday.

Due dates: I luf them.

ANYWAY, the point is, this year I only bought three books to not read in the coming year, and boy do they look like good ones. And this may be the year I actually break the non-reading tradition, because A) they look so good, and 2) I actually started reading the Kate Atkinson book a couple months ago, but it was a library book and I didn’t finish it before I had to return it (also, why can’t you renew books on Kindles? That really chaps my hide.) because I was in a very chaotic reading mode with no less than eight books checked out and really had simply stretched my reading self too thin. But now that I actually own the book, I can pick up where I left off, and maybe, JUST MAYBE, actually finish a book in the same year I bought it.

I think I just blew my own mind at the mere thought of it all.

2015: The year of taking my reading to new heights, my dear Interwebers.

Leave a Reply

