stocking the bar through useless knowledge

29 Oct

Mount Gay rum

For the past six months or so, Swede and I have hit up the monthly trivia night at the yacht club. It turns out that this is a phenomenal way to stock our home bar. Three out of the six months we’ve come in first place, and are consequently in possession of two bottles of Mount Gay rum and a bottle of Dewar’s.

I knew all of this useless knowledge of mine would prove beneficial some day!

But here’s a question—where did I get all of the useless knowledge?

I don’t really know.

Well, wait. That’s not quite true. For one winning question (Category: Things. Question: These can be slow-twitch or fast-twitch. Answer: Muscles), I can thank Secretary of Education Arne Duncan’s wife. She was Swede’s high school phys ed teacher, and there’s a story he tells about how Mrs. Secretary of Education once told him he had slow-twitch muscles.

But the rest of the useless knowledge, no clue. No clue where it came from. I’m guessing osmosis, though, because there is no other way I would know that Madonna’s brother is named Christopher Ciccone, and he wrote a book called Life with My Sister Madonna. I have looked, you guys, and that book does not show up on any of my yearly book lists.

Anyway, the point is that we are full of useless knowledge and now our shelves are full of booze, and if you want to join us sometime, please do. Especially if you know sports really, really well. Because we’d be six for six if we didn’t keep blowing the sports questions.

Leave a Reply

