csb january 2014: a pound in

26 Jan

Truth: I have, in my possession, a pound cake recipe that will knock your socks off.

Truth #2: This month’s Cake Slice recipe is not that recipe.

It’s not that the Old Fashioned Pound Cake that was the January 2013 recipe was bad, per se. It just wasn’t…spectacular.

And the recipe I have, given to me long ago by one of my best college girlfriends, is spectacular. It uses mounds of butter and has a sugary, chewy, crackly top that makes you want to snarfle it down as fast as you can, and land a left uppercut on anyone who tries to get in your way.

DSC_0213

This recipe? It’s nice. I wouldn’t punch someone in the face for it, but I might give him a strong hug.

I will note, however, that this pound cake is better warm than it is at room temperature. So either serve it fresh out of the oven, or throw it in the microwave for about 45 seconds before eating. If you happen to slather it with homemade apple pie jam that your sister made for you, all the better. If it’s not -45 degrees outside and you have access to a grill, I might also recommend grilling the pound cake, along with some pineapple slices. Not that I’ve tried the latter with this specific pound cake, but I’ve done that with other pound cakes to delicious results.

But I’m getting a little ahead of myself. Let’s start at the very beginning. As Julie Andrews as Maria von Trapp sang, it’s a very good place to start.

And it starts with lining a loaf pan with parchment paper.

And Lo! In surveying my cabinets, I found I actually! had! parchment paper! No idea when I purchased it. But there it was, happy as a clam, hanging out in my cabinet. Glorious. I quickly tore off a piece I approximated would fit in the pan, and set about trying to then, you know, get it in the pan.

Voila!

DSC_0207

It’s not perfect, but that’s cool. Neither am I. I wasn’t about to judge the parchment paper for its lack of rigidity.

I turned to the mixer, silently rolling my eyes as I read over the directions about mixing times (ridiculous, as per usual, and dropping in the sugar one grain at a time (double eye roll). To be quite honest, at this point I’ve given up following Walton’s directions about the mixing and the this and the that. I turned back to grab a spoon off the counter next to the loaf pan, only to find this:

DSC_0209

I tried again to shove it down and make the paper stay in place, but it wanted to stay put about as much as my control-top opaque tights want to stay in place and not bunch and twist awkwardly around my hips. Which is to say, not much. So instead of struggling with the paper and the pan (and my tights for that matter), I said fuck it, chucked the paper in the garbage and sprayed the hell out of the pan with non-stick spray.

(As for my tights, I had a serious talk with myself about why the shit I was wearing tights anyway. Everyone knows that when you walk in the front door of your home you should immediately strip off whatever clothes you are wearing and put on your pajammies.)

Except for the clouds of flour dust that poofed up when I dumped in the cake flour and made my eyes water slightly, this cake came together pretty easily. I went for the straight version, though the book gives variations for “spirited” and “nutty” and “chocolate chip” pound cakes. I know, you’re probably very surprised that I didn’t fall for the “spirited” pound cake, and frankly, so am I. I suspect it may have made this cake that much better, and given it the oomph it needed to compete with the spectacular recipe that my gal pal gave me many moons ago.

DSC_0232

Alright, Ms. Walton, it’s time to step up to the plate and impress me. Of the three recipes I’ve baked from this book, I’ve only really liked one of them. Not good odds in your favor, but I have high hopes that next month fall on the right side of the tasty line.

Bake on, friends.

Poundcake 2

8 Responses to “csb january 2014: a pound in”

  1. Anabel January 26, 2014 at 11:27 PM #

    I definetly agree this cake was better warm. Definitely not the dense traditional pound cake, but yet I found it delish! I’m crossing my fingers next month cake blows you away!

  2. Hazel January 27, 2014 at 4:51 PM #

    yup.. I’m with you on this one! Nice but I have a better recipe myself. Hazel x

  3. ImWhisper January 30, 2014 at 8:37 PM #

    Eye rolling and prissy parchment paper ~ Bravo!!
    Fingers crossed here too for next month’s recipe!
    🙂
    Holly

    • McPolish January 30, 2014 at 9:26 PM #

      HA! Prissy parchment paper–that’s the perfect way to describe it!

  4. Diana Gale January 31, 2014 at 11:49 PM #

    At first glance I thought, “Sara Lee!” This looks perfect!

    • mollystrz February 6, 2014 at 8:10 AM #

      Did anyone else think that the jingle was, “Nobody does it like Sara Lee”? Because I totally thought that was the jingle for a LONG time. 😀

  5. graceakaclouds February 6, 2014 at 4:02 AM #

    Molly, your post made me chuckle quite a fair bit. What a lighthearted and interesting post! I love the way you just chucked the parchment paper like I did because it was really a hassle. The baking spray did it for me just fine 🙂 haha about the tights! Yeah chuck your tights too 😉 I absolutely agree with you when you say that this cake should be eaten warm. Your cake definitely looks way better than awesome!

    • mollystrz February 6, 2014 at 8:09 AM #

      Thanks, Grace!

Leave a Reply

