oh, give thanks

27 Nov

While the first eleven months of this year had its fair share of ups, downs, overs, unders, ins and throughs, I can wholly recognize that I am one lucky mother trucker who has much for which to be thankful.

A short list:

One: Popcorn.

Do I really need to explain why I am thankful for the world’s most perfect snack food? And not that microwave bullshit. I’m talking about the real stuff, made with olive oil and butter and kosher salt. God bless popcorn, and its boon companion, red wine.

Two: Writing groups.

Back in 2012, I put together a group of four ladies, and every week we’d get together online for writing critiques on our Books In Progress. It was magical to be in such an honest, encouraging, sailor-mouthed writing environment. We kept up the group for about a year, but new babies, new jobs, new homes, and general life got in the way, and we’ve been on an indefinite hiatus for about the past eight months.

But even though our original group of unicorns (our nickname for each other) dissipated, I am still incredibly thankful for the awesomeness of these ladies. This month, one of my unicorns and I have been meeting on Wednesday nights for writing blitzes, and in between swapping jokes and catching up, we have actually gotten some writing accomplished. I’m not saying what I’ve written is good, mind you, but at least there are words on a page, and for that I am thankful.

Three: HGTV, Food Network, and Enrique Iglesias.

They are the only reasons I go to the gym/spin class ever. You can run, you can hide, but you can’t escape my love, heart and lung system!

Four: Scented candles.

It’s entirely probable (definite) that I have a serious problem not buying smelly candles. Can you blame me? Do you not want to arrive home to a house that smells like pumpkin pie? Or spiced apples? Or clean laundry? Because a world without scented candles just stinks. And I mean that quite literally. I live in the city, you guys. Things can get pretty rank up in here.

Five: You.

If I know you, even a little bit, even just to pass you on the street once in my entire life, I am so thankful that you are here.

Happy Thanksgiving, Interwebers. Let’s have some pie.

Leave a Reply

