csb october: yes, I do actually still bake, or, surprisingly there were no surprises, except when there were

21 Oct

October is the last month for we Cake Slice Bakers are baking from Vintage Cakes, a book, frankly, I will be glad to be done with.

Okay, that’s a little harsh. The cakes I have actually made (admittedly few) (What? We bought a condo, I moved, I have to live with cats now, and I’m lucky I can find my underwear some days. Life has been a little hectic. Don’t hassle the Hoff.), have been terrific, particularly the red velvet with mascarpone cream cheese frosting. And the banana cake was damn tasty, too.  As was the cake I made this month, which was a Blogger’s Choice, if you will, meaning that we could pick whatever cake we wanted to, and bake the crap out of it.

And in all honesty, my issue with this book stems from the fact that I’m still angry about the frosting debacle from the last cake I made which was just ridiculous. A candy thermometer? To make buttercream? WTF? Can we all just agree that making frosting does not have to be that hard?

FROSTING ACTUAL CAKES, however.

Well, that’s a different story.

IMHO, anyway.

(But for you, dear Interwebers, I pledge that in this next year of baking I will become the Master!—the MASTER!*—of Frosting Cakes!)

Where was I?

October’s cake!

Right!

So, this month, I chose to make the cake I was supposed to make for January. Which, obviously, if you read this blog at all, I did not do in January. But now I have! So there you go! Cross it off the list and call it a day! Put your feet up and fire up a cigar! We’re going to celebrate that I Actually Got Something Crossed Off My To Do List.

It was a banner day.

It was a “classic” cake—vanilla, not quite yellow, not full-on white—and it was delicious. Right before you dump it into the pan (or in my case, cupcake foils, see above mentioned and well-documented issues with me frosting cakes), you fold in whipped cream, which gives it a really great light texture.

DSC_0472  

So light and fluffy, however, that you should not, should definitely not, overfill the muffin foils, otherwise the cupcakes puff up and over and stick to your pan, and then when you try to take them out of the pan they start to tear and then the next thing you know you’ve torn three cupcakes which obviously can’t be frosted because they’re broken and since one of your pet peeves is wasting food it’s probably just best if you just eat the broken cupcakes and save everyone the anguish of knowing that you got a little heavy handed with the cupcake foil filling and thus broke three cupcakes and then maybe start typing this sentence on a sugar high from which you may never come down.

DSC_0483

No, it’s much better to fill them a sane amount, and avoid all of that above-mentioned rigmarole.

DSC_0486

There were no surprises in making this cake, and the outcome—like a couple cakes I’ve experienced with this book—was quite delectable, with the sticky, chewy, baked rims around the cupcakes where they may have cooked slightly faster than the rest of the cake.

The only surprise that happened into the kitchen was in the making of the frosting—a blessedly simple recipe by comparison to the others in this book—when I discovered, SURPRISE! I only had 12 ounces of chocolate chips in my pantry, instead of a pound. But SURPRISE! I did have cinnamon chips, and after a brief debate in my head, threw them in the bowl with the heavy cream and brown sugar. And then, SURPRISE! I threw in some melting chocolate discs I found (I am constantly surprised by what I find in my cabinets sometimes. Did you know I have a whole bag of flaxseed? You did? Because I sure as shit did not.) And NOT SURPRISE!, the cinnamon-chocolate frosting concoction was amazing. Predominantly chocolate, with just a hint of cinnamon. Simply terrific. Unless, of course, you don’t like cinnamon, in which case this entire paragraph has probably made you vomit a little in your mouth.

But trust me. It was delicious.

DSC_0529

And there you have it, Interwebers. The last cake with the CSB for this year’s book, Vintage Cakes. Next month I’ll be back with the first recipe out of the new book. I can’t tell you what those are (it’s a secret!), and I haven’t made next month’s cake yet, but I can tell you this: From the looks of it, it’s entirely possible it is Fall in a cake pan. And better yet, no frosting is involved.

 

*Mistress, anyway. I shall have a torrid affair with frosting cakes. Under the cover of darkness and etc, etc, while wearing velvet dresses. Because I feel like if you’re going to have an affair with something, it should involve a velvet dress. It just makes sense in my head. 

17 Responses to “csb october: yes, I do actually still bake, or, surprisingly there were no surprises, except when there were”

  1. Cassie October 21, 2013 at 10:35 AM #

    I feel I must point out that you will never get good at frosting cakes if you keep making cupcakes. However, I also think that, unless you are bringing it to a party where the cake will get eaten in one evening, cupcakes are a better route. I just feel like they last longer than a half-eaten cake.

    • mollystrz October 21, 2013 at 11:09 AM #

      This is very true, Cass. Is why it is my mission, MY MISSION!, to not make cupcakes with the next book as much as possible. I need the practice!

  2. Emily October 21, 2013 at 10:43 AM #

    I have the same issues with the frostings from Vintage Cakes… I am glad you liked this cake and enjoyed reading your post, as usual!

    • mollystrz October 21, 2013 at 11:10 AM #

      Right? They just seemed so complicated. Frosting does not need to be that complicated. It’s frosting, for Pete’s sake!

  3. Felice/All That's Left Are The Crumbs October 21, 2013 at 2:40 PM #

    I mostly had success with this book but there were a few challenges. Sometimes you just roll with the punches and sometimes you grab a can of whipped topping and say there, now it’s frosted. Love your cupcakes and cinnamon-chocolate sounds delicious to me.

    • mollystrz October 21, 2013 at 4:14 PM #

      hahahahahaha…so true, Felice! Whipped cream solves many of life’s problems. 😀

      • EmilyC October 24, 2013 at 12:50 AM #

        next month’s cake, no frosting…. but hey we can up it with a glaze? 😉

  4. Anne@FromMySweetHeart October 21, 2013 at 7:25 PM #

    Molly…these look scrumptious! My difficulties were in baking some of the cakes. I think I’m still scraping shoo fly cake off the bottom of my oven! And cupcakes ARE a cake. Thank God we just have to frost the tops! : )

    • mollystrz October 24, 2013 at 7:44 AM #

      Ugh, that shoo fly cake was the WORST. You know, I actually made that cake, but never blogged about it, because it was That. Bad. Bleh. On to the next book!

  5. Anabel October 21, 2013 at 11:56 PM #

    I got exhausted reading your post, lol! Glad your ready to come back with full force! I’m ready to get to know you better!

  6. Maranda October 22, 2013 at 9:06 AM #

    Great job on these cupcakes! And duh! Eating the broken cupcakes is mandatory because there shouldn’t be any evidence of the broken ones! At least until you write a whole blog post about it and announce it to the entire webiverse. Kudos to you for persevering! I’m looking forward to our next book too!

  7. Sandra Garth October 22, 2013 at 5:50 PM #

    Oh my gosh, this post was hilarious!! I don’t confess to eating the broken cupcakes, no one needs to know, LOL!!!

    • mollystrz October 24, 2013 at 7:45 AM #

      It will be our secret! 😀

  8. Hazel @Cupcakerys October 23, 2013 at 9:54 AM #

    Cinnamon chocolate.. oh my! Why have I never had this? But um… what are cinnamon chips? They sound amazing! Also i Love cupcakes… all the cupcakes. And I definitely like yours too! 🙂

    • mollystrz October 24, 2013 at 7:45 AM #

      They’re hard to find! I had a friend bring them back from the Midwest for me when I was in DC. She had spotted them at a store in Rockford and nabbed a bag. I think they’re made by Hershey? I’m on the hunt for more….I’ll let you know what I find!

  9. ImWhisper October 25, 2013 at 1:00 AM #

    Let’s be honest here – I have no idea how your cupcakes look or turned out because I am sitting here LMAO about the flaxseed – I have done that way too many times! Last time I checked no one is sneaking stuff onto my pantry shelves! Unless my husband is doing it to make me crazy which is a darn solid possibility. Hmmmm…

    Now that I have gone back up and finished… your cupcakes look wonderful and bravo on making a yummy frosting and NOT including flaxseed in it!

    🙂
    Holly

    • mollystrz October 25, 2013 at 8:12 PM #

      BAHAHAHAHAHAHA Thank goodness I’m not the only one this happens to. 😀 And thank you for the kind words–though flaxseed frosting….now that’s an experiment right there. 😉

Leave a Reply

