photo friday: cherry picked

16 Aug

DSC_0804

There is a lengthy number of items on my summer To Do list, and in the past couple of weeks I’ve managed to cross a few of them off, thanks in part to a recent trip to Door County.

God Bless Wisconsin!

Okay, so maybe it wasn’t a terribly long list, more like a handful of items, but still. But they are Very Important Things. Like eating from a food truck (still need to get to that), eating an ice cream cone (another post for another time), and riding the lakefront path (I’ll do that as soon as I find my helmet. Which is probably somewhere in one of the damn boxes). The point is: I accomplished something! I got to cross something off my list!

And that thing was picking fruit. Originally I was thinking blueberries, but when in Door County, do as Door Countians do. And that? That means cherries.

After driving up and down the main road that runs through all the little DC towns, stopping at various and sundry wineries and cideries along the way, we came across Carlson’s Island View Orchards, and were shocked to find that we were the only ones there. Why? Why weren’t other tourists and Door Countians out picking tart cherries? I don’t understand this! They were only $9 a pail! I kind of want to drive back up there and get more! Right now! $9 a pail! That’s a steal!

We picked two pails and most likely a goodly portion of these cherries will be turned into cherry bounce, which, we were informed 17,695 times, is just what you do with all those cherries.

But you’ll have to wait until December to see how the fruits of our labor turned out. Which is kind of annoying, because practicing patience is not something I ever put on my To Do lists.

Leave a Reply

