5 things you learn about yourself when you move

15 Jul

*And by you I mean me

 

One: I have an inordinate amount of chonies. Like, in the high 40s to 50s number of pairs.

Why? When? How? did this all happen? I have no idea. And that is the number AFTER I got rid of a bunch of pairs.

Speaking of which: What, exactly, does one do with old chonies? It’s not exactly something I’m comfortable donating to Goodwill, but the waste-not-want-not side of me felt terrible tossing an enormous mound of chonies in the garbage. (I stuffed them in an old grocery bag, and tied them up before tossing them, lest there be some sort of snafu on garbage day, and chonies suddenly flying willy-nilly all over the street.)

Then again, I just got done saying that at one point I had close to 75 pairs of chonies, so it’s entirely possible that the whole spend-thrift/waste-not-want-not attitude is completely lost on me.

Two: I have an obsession with organizational containers. The better to organize the aforementioned 50 pairs of chonies, of course.

Three: There is no non-awkward way to try and be helpful to your movers when they are packing and unpacking your U-Haul truck. In times like these, I simply retreated to my resting state, which in this case meant sitting in the cab of the U-Haul with my Kindle. It was either that or hover off to the side of the truck while trying not to get into Lenny and Squiggy’s way as they hefted furniture, incessantly asking them, “Are you guys okay? Are you sure you don’t need any help?” Particularly when, after the fifth time you’ve asked them that, their eyebrows are clearly saying, “NO AND STOP ‘HELPING.’”

So.

Kindle in the cab it was.

Four: There is no good way to unpack boxes.

Oh, you think you are going to be all methodical and organized about it, until you’ve unpacked three boxes and realize you have way too much crap and why didn’t you thin it out before you moved it all, oh, wait, you did thin the herd of kitchenware and office gear and chonies and winter scarves and you STILL have too much crap, and hey, wait, you should corral all the crap together in coordinating rooms, so best if instead of trying to unpack one box at a time you half-unpack several boxes at once searching for crap that goes in specific rooms because it’s all packed in a jumble, until you sit down in the middle of it in despair and decide that the best idea of all would be to get a pizza and move into a NEW new home, one that doesn’t have any crap whatsoever and you can just start from scratch in acquiring new crap.

Five: I hate moving and I’m never doing it again.

6 Responses to “5 things you learn about yourself when you move”

  1. Susan Cuvelier July 15, 2013 at 10:40 PM #

    I think that’s the first time I’ve ever heard the word “chonies”; I had to Google it. I agree with how unpleasant moving is. I’m in the middle of a great purge here (no move involved), and it’s enough to make me a bit crazy. Hope you enjoyed the pizza and that life gets settled quickly.

  2. Emily July 16, 2013 at 11:03 PM #

    Molly,
    I had to google chronies! I have trouble throwing them chronies out too. I cut them up and put them in old pillow cases….. now gathering up courage to put them in the bin! outside of my home!

    • mollystrz August 7, 2013 at 10:53 PM #

      I love it!

  3. Kavi July 17, 2013 at 10:54 AM #

    Ahhh, moving is the worst. I have a moved lined up in the near-future, and I’m not looking forward to it… but hoping for the best 😉

    • mollystrz August 7, 2013 at 10:55 PM #

      Fingers crossed for you that all goes smoothly. And if not, that there is cold champagne/pizza/chocolate/vice of choice nearby to soothe the pain!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. photo friday: so the unpacking is going well | McPolish.com - July 19, 2013

    […] now all of our belongings, as I’ve mentioned, are dog piled in the middle of the living room in various states of disarrayed unpacking. I’ve […]

Leave a Reply

