a list in short

13 Mar

Today is my birthday, and in honor of turning 34, I thought I’d share with you 3 and 4 things. Three things that happened on this day in history (besides the momentous occasion of my birth) and four things about me that you probably didn’t know. Or maybe you did, but if that’s the case, please don’t ruin the surprise for others.

3 Things in History:

On this day in 1781, William Herschel discovered Uranus.

How has it taken me 34 years to work that into conversation?

 

In 1911. L. Ron Hubbard, founder of Scientology, was born.

So there’s that.

 

In 1969, the Apollo 9 returned safely to Earth after testing the Lunar Module.

The mission was out of this world.

 

4 Things About Me:

With a few exceptions (recently I’ve discovered the joys of tuna sashimi and watermelon and tuna ceviche), I don’t eat fish or seafood. I Just. Don’t. Like it. I’ve tried it—numerous times—in various forms and styles, and it always tastes fishy to me. I don’t care how “mild” you tell me it is, it all tastes fishy to me.

I can count to ten in six languages: English, Spanish, French, Italian, German, and Korean. Thank you, Sesame Street. And Tae Kwon Do.

I’ve never been to Canada. I’ve been all over Europe, and a good portion of the U.S., but I’ve never paid a visit to our neighbor to the north. I know. I’m disappointed in me, too. I need to remedy this immediately.

I hate wearing a coat. Particularly when I’m driving. I don’t mind so much when I’m walking, and it’s cold, or tailgating, and it’s cold. But driving, or sitting in a car, or on the train, or whatever? Coat comes off in an instant. In-between weather is particularly annoying, because then half the time I don’t even want to be walking and wearing a coat as I tend to get overheated quite quickly, and truth be told, I end up carrying a coat around more than I actually wear it.

 

So tell me a little about you! What happened on your birthday? 

6 Responses to “a list in short”

  1. joyfromyesterfood March 13, 2013 at 8:45 AM #

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY, m’dear!! Hope you have a beautiful day! 🙂

    Joy @ Yesterfood.blogspot.com

  2. Stephanie Y. March 13, 2013 at 10:27 AM #

    I share a birthday with Paula Abdul. This was very cool to me circa 1990. According to Wikipedia I share the EXACT SAME BIRTH DATE AND YEAR as Macklemore. This is very cool to me, today, in 2013.

  3. Solitary Diner March 13, 2013 at 10:21 PM #

    Happy Birthday. And get thee to Canada. STAT!

  4. kessiekay June 19, 2013 at 9:32 AM #

    I share a birthday with Winston Churchill, Bo Jackson and Ben Stiller. Go me. And I spent my 34th birthday in a dive bar in the Chitown burbs, and drinking so much that I may or may not have allowed the 6’6″ bouncer to go motorboating. 35 can’t come soon enough. I need to grow the eff up.

    • mollystrz June 19, 2013 at 11:10 PM #

      I don’t see any need for you to grow up. I think this is a perfectly acceptable way to spend a 34th birthday. Your next birthday, however, should definitely involve bagpipes.

Leave a Reply

