spring fling: 5 things to do in march, april, and may

6 Mar

As you may or may not know, I am a fan of lists. Let’s go so far as to say a HUGE fan, even. Lists, they speak to my Type A, goal-oriented little heart. So I was thinking the other day, when it was warm (a relative term) and sunny (not relative—it actually was sunny), that here it is March, and while it’s entirely possible that winter weather could last until May, technically spring will rise again, if only in month-names only.

And that got me thinking further about how I can combine Doing Stuff and Lists and Weather. Obviously the only solution was to make a list of things I want to do. In the spring.

1.    Harness races. So, a few weeks ago, Swede got a thing in the mail for the local racetrack, giving us a 2-for-1 deal on the buffet. A) I like a good buffet, 2) I have no qualms about using coupons for a buffet at the racetrack like a blue-hair, and III) I’ve lived near this racetrack for way more than a handful of years and I’ve never been. Plus, I’ve never seen harness racing, just regular horse racing. (If you can count the Kentucky Derby and Preakness as regular horse racing?)

2.    Visit the Art Institute. We’ve been talking about doing this since before we even moved back to Chicago and yet have never gone. In fact, I think the last time I went to the Art Institute was right after I graduated from college and Captain Deb was in town. There was some sort of exhibition she wanted to see—Van Gogh, perhaps? Maybe Monet? I can’t remember—but it was already sold out, so instead we ambled around the regular rooms. But for the life of me I can’t remember a damn thing we saw in those rooms, save for the items featured in Ferris Bueller, so I’m more than overdue for a refresher. Plus, there is a Picasso and Chicago exhibit happening, which intrigues me. Win-win all around, right?

3.    Sky deck at the Sears Tower. It has literally been DECADES since I last visited the Sears Tower. Sorry—Willis Tower. No, wait. That name is lame. And no one calls it that unless they are using a voice that drips with so much sarcasm you could toss it with popcorn and wouldn’t even need extra salt. So like I was saying, DECADES. And I think I’ve really only been there once, and the memory is faint, oh-so-faint. And now that they have the new draw, I’m just going to go out on a ledge and add this endeavor to my list.

Yup, pun TOTALLY intended.

4.    Dim Sum at Phoenix. The amount of time I’ve spent in Chicago’s Chinatown is the amount of time it takes to get from the expressway to Connie’s Pizza, more often than not on my way to a White Sox game. But Swede claims that there is terrifically delicious dim sum to be had, specifically at a place called Phoenix, and as I A) like Chinese food, 2) have only had dim sum once before and it was a kind of meh experience, and III) really should experience more of what Chinatown has to offer. And obviously, I like the foodstuffs, so I don’t really see why I would not add this to the list. I mean, it would be criminal not to, if you ask me. And I simply don’t have time to go to jail.

5.    Chicago Botanic Garden. Last fall, I made a trip out to the Morton Arboretum, which was lovely. And with spring in the air, and things about to bloom the crap out of themselves, I think this would be an excellent time to try the nature to the northside. Someone please remind me to charge my camera battery and take my Claritin D.

What am I missing, Interwebers? What other places should I visit around Chicagoland this spring? 

5 Responses to “spring fling: 5 things to do in march, april, and may”

  1. ChicagoRanter March 6, 2013 at 3:29 AM #

    The Garfield Park Conservatory! Finally done renovating (last year) all the rooms after the hail storm a few years back broke all the windows

    • mollystrz March 6, 2013 at 10:27 AM #

      Good call! I remember that hail storm, and thinking to put it on my list of places to visit once it was renovated. Thanks for the tip!

  2. Solitary Diner March 6, 2013 at 7:53 AM #

    Ooh….so many things to do in Chicago! My advice (as one who now knows so much about the city) is to not try to see the whole Art Institute in one visit like I did. It is enormous and overwhelming, and it’s easy to find oneself cranky and tired before getting to the end. Also, stop in their cafeteria for a break…they make very good pizza.

    For other things….I adored the Field Museum, and the Chicago Cultural Center is beautiful inside (and free!). And consider a food tour of the city. I enjoyed trying a bunch of different places as well as learning more about the history.

    I am now very jealous of you for living there. I may need to visit again. I do have a week in October…..hmmm….

    • mollystrz March 6, 2013 at 10:29 AM #

      LOVE the Field Museum–I was there last summer with my nephew, who promptly chewed the head off of his wax brontosaurus. (Totally fine, right?) I walk past the Cultural Center every day on my way to the train, so now at your prompting I’m going to HAVE to stop in and check it out! 🙂

      And if you come back in October, you’d BEST be getting in touch with me. 😉

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. photo friday: a tale of two horses | McPolish.com - March 22, 2013

    […] sixth race (and may have lost $10 total on the other races*), and managed to cross an item off my Spring Fling list all at […]

Leave a Reply

