csb february: this is beautiful, is this velvet?

20 Feb

Anyone remember that Alannah Myles song Black Velvet? She’s all lusty and 1990s, singing about Elvis. Or should I say….VELVIS?

Seriously, you guys. This is what makes this world great—hit songs about Velvet Elvises. And if you think I haven’t karaoked the crap out of this song, you are so, so wrong.

Anyway, this is all to say that February’s Cake Slice Bakers selection was red velvet with mascarpone cream cheese frosting from the Vintage Cakes cookbook.

(See what I did there? Black velvet? Red velvet? Eh? Eh? No? Oh well. I like it.)

I have to confess something, you guys. I have always been a little intimidated to try baking a red velvet cake, so I never made the attempt. My intimidation has a little to do with the ready availability of Red! Velvet! Everywhere!, in bakeries and grocery stores, and hell, even the gas station, and a lot to do with people being Very. Particular. about their red velvet taste preferences. Frankly, I didn’t want to offend or disappoint anyone with any red velvet I might offer.

But this recipe?

Oh my.

Worry no more, my friends. Worry. No. More.

DSC_0710

After biting into one of these beauties, Swede and I both proclaimed that this red velvet cupcake? This batch right here? This might be the best thing I’ve ever baked. Ever. Or at least in a really, really long time.

The cake was spongy, and had the perfect amount of light chocolate flavor to it. The frosting was creamy and dreamy and I don’t know why I don’t add mascarpone cheese to….everything. It might be my new ranch dressing, re: it makes everything better.

Yes, it’s a bit odd to add a tablespoon of red dye to your cake batter because that’s a solid dose of chemicals I’m dumping into the bowl and eschewing the organic free range cake route, but whatever. I figure that dye is just going to party on with all the other food chemicals I’ve consumed over the years and hence why I will be perfectly preserved until I’m well into my 90s. Sister #2 and I will have a grand old time being little old ladies together, as she has decided to preserve her person by pickling herself from the inside out via a selection of red and white wines.

What?

In other news, mayhaps the other reason I was so nervous baking this cake (or in my case, cupcakes) was because I was doing so while watching the Superbowl. And the Ravens—for whom I never thought I would root, for myriad reasons—were playing, and damn if I didn’t find myself in a tizzy hoping they would come out on top. (I don’t really have anything against the ‘Niners, but I hold a special place in my heart for anyone who beats the Patriots because OMG I DESPISE THE PATRIOTS WITH THE FIERY PASSION OF 1,000 BURNING SUNS. And the Ravens beat the Patsies to make the Superbowl, hence the Ravens earned my love for the evening.) It was touch and go there for a while (thank you, Superdome blackout), but in the end the Ravens were victorious, and Swede and I had delicious cake. Win-win all around if you ask me.

So, my dear Interwebers, the moral of this blog post is this: Don’t fear the red velvet. And stress baking during the Superbowl is completely fine if not highly encouraged. Also, I’m really hoping 2013 is the year of an Alannah Myles comeback. I’m thinking a cooking show, maybe titled “Red Velvet, If You Please.”

DSC_0725

22 Responses to “csb february: this is beautiful, is this velvet?”

  1. Solitary Diner February 20, 2013 at 7:56 AM #

    Can you share the recipe? Pleeeeease?

    • mollystrz February 20, 2013 at 11:07 AM #

      For you? Anything. Remind me if you don’t get an email from me within the next few days!

  2. The Swede February 20, 2013 at 11:07 AM #

    That was stupidly good cake.

  3. Cassie February 20, 2013 at 11:27 AM #

    I used to call the radio station – Z93? I think- and request this song. And then, when they didn’t play it immediately, I would call back with a fake accent and request it again, so they would think it was really really popular.

    I was so cool.

    • mollystrz February 21, 2013 at 12:04 AM #

      This is why we are friends.

  4. Stephanie Y. February 20, 2013 at 10:12 PM #

    That video was just so early 90s. All of it.

    I’m impressed with your red velvet making skillz. I have the same aversion, except mine stems from my grandma who makes the best red velvet ever and I am scared to even go there, ya know? Hmm, but maybe I should…

    • mollystrz February 21, 2013 at 12:04 AM #

      You should. You DEFINITELY should. I’ll send you this recipe. It’s divine.

  5. Emily February 21, 2013 at 12:37 AM #

    Another great post from you! Have I ever told you that I enjoy visiting your blog! you never fail to make me laugh out loud!!!

    okay, that’s it. I am baking RVC tonight!

    • mollystrz February 22, 2013 at 10:38 PM #

      Thanks, Emily! And yes, BAKE IT NOOOOOOW. You won’t regret it. 🙂

  6. Paloma February 21, 2013 at 9:03 AM #

    I am so thrilled this recipe didn’t disappoint! Everyone who has baked it at TCS has been pleased with it! It sure was a keeper! So happy you enjoyed it! 🙂 Beautiful!

  7. joyfromyesterfood February 21, 2013 at 10:39 AM #

    HA! I enjoyed your very witty post, Molly! 🙂 Your cake is beautiful, and I want to party to 90 with you and your sister. 😉

    • mollystrz February 22, 2013 at 10:48 PM #

      Thanks, Joy! Come on over, the wine is fine! 😉

  8. ImWhisper February 21, 2013 at 6:43 PM #

    LOL! Stress baking is definitely well received in my house!
    Your cupcakes look super yummy!!
    Holly
    🙂

    • mollystrz February 22, 2013 at 10:39 PM #

      Ha! I feel like somedays I could feed the neighborhood with all the baking going on up in this joint. 😀

  9. All That's Left Are The Crumbs February 22, 2013 at 1:49 AM #

    I actually heard that song on the radio yesterday but couldn’t remember who sang it. Your cupcakes are great and I am glad that this was a winner for you. I think that the frosting was the best part of the cake for me.

    • mollystrz February 22, 2013 at 10:44 PM #

      I want to put that frosting on EVERYTHING now. It’s one of the best I’ve made.

  10. Grace (Life can be simple) February 23, 2013 at 1:41 AM #

    Molly, totally love your post that says it all. RVC is definitely one of the best! I will try to make this with mascarpone cream cheese frosting just the way you guys did the next time I bake this. Enough said, I totally love this month’s cake!

    • mollystrz February 24, 2013 at 1:24 PM #

      Thanks, Grace! I can’t wait to make these RVC again!

  11. Stacie February 23, 2013 at 12:27 PM #

    Yours look great..and they were definitely yummy!

  12. Anne@FromMySweetHeart February 24, 2013 at 10:07 PM #

    What a great idea to make cupcakes out of these. They look fabulous! : )

  13. Cucina49 February 26, 2013 at 3:31 PM #

    Your cupcakes look awesome, and congratulations on your beloved Ravens winning the SB.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. csb october: yes, I do actually still bake, or, surprisingly there were no surprises, except when there were | McPolish.com - October 21, 2013

    […] underwear some days. Life has been a little hectic. Don’t hassle the Hoff.), have been terrific, particularly the red velvet with mascarpone cream cheese frosting. And the banana cake was damn tasty, too.  As was the cake I […]

Leave a Reply

