photo friday: rolling along

26 Oct

A couple weeks ago, a girl I knew from high school Facebooked me and said she was going to be in town, had an extra ticket to the Thornton Quarry tour, and since her mom was under the weather, would I care to join her?

Which is precisely how I found myself on a very bright and chilly Saturday morning catching up with someone I hadn’t seen in 15 years, and on a school bus, driving down, down, down into a quarry I’d driven past more times than I could fathom to count.

And which is precisely how I found out that the tires that roll these machines around to transport the rubble from one place to another in their great, gaping, toothy maws, cost $10,000 each.

$10,000.

For a tire. A tire.

And thus I shall never furrow my brow at the prices at Sears Auto Center again.

2 Responses to “photo friday: rolling along”

  1. Steph October 26, 2012 at 7:26 AM #

    I’m assuming your nephew was all over these pictures? 🙂

  2. Megan (Best of Fates) October 26, 2012 at 7:57 AM #

    That sounds awesome – I wish random people from my past would show up and take me to quarries.

Leave a Reply

