women on wednesday: remiss

24 Oct

A couple days week few weeks OVER A YEAR AGO GAH, the ever-sassy JW Moxie put the call out for her awesome Sock It To Me exchange. The concept is simple: a randomizer picks the name of a fellow blogger also participating, and then you send that blogger a little warm and fuzzy in the mail—socks, of course. You may or may not know said blogger, you may or may not even read said blogger (though you probably will after you’ve bonded over foot coverings). But either way now there is a new thread (ha, ha), connecting people.

The follow up to that is that JW asked us very kindly to please and thank you blog on the prompt of reflecting on the past 18 months, sometime during the week of September 12 (2011, MIND YOU), and show a picture of the warm and fuzzy socks you received.

It was wonderful to send out my warm and fuzzy to my secret socker, and to get my own pairs of socks in the mail. The love? It was felt.

And then there is the part where it turns out I’m a total a-hole.

I mean, like, more so than usual.

Why, do you ask, am I an a-hole more than usual?

Well.

Because my sock-giver?

I NEVER THANKED HER.

And what makes me even MORE of an a-hole?

MY SOCK GIVER IS THE AMAZING J.W. MOXIE’S MOTHER.

Excuse me while I go off to this corner here and hang my head in shame for being so incredibly incompetent and inconsiderate and remiss in thanking the Silver Fox for her gift.

Because you guys, seriously. I’ve never met this woman, but she sounds pretty awesome. And I think, you guys, really…she GETS me. Just look at the socks she sent:

(Note—I did actually take these photos last fall/winter, when I received the socks. And then went ahead and never made mention of them. Because did I mention I’m an a-hole?)

Gangsta SilverFox also sent an incredibly thoughtful note along with these fun socks. She’d been reading my blog, she said, and had read all about how I’d just moved back home to Chicago.

“The ruby slippers are to remind you, “There’s no place like home!” The other socks are for the artist in you! May you have many Starry Nights, eating pizza, drinking Diet Pepsi, and taking beautiful pictures.”

So yeah. Let me reiterate: I’m an a-hole who went over a FULL YEAR before letting the Silver Fox know (via this blog post) how thankful I am for her gift. For shame, McPolish. My ma taught me better than that. For shame, for shame.

Gangsta SilverFox, I hope you’ll forgive me. Because truly, you are an amazing woman, and the best Sock It To Me exchanger a girl could ask for. These socks could not be more perfect in fit and thought, and over the last year they have been worn often, and worn with love. Thank you.

Thank you, thank you.

And I swear, Moxie, if you do another sock exchange this year, I promise I will not be such an a-hole.

5 Responses to “women on wednesday: remiss”

  1. Kymberli aka JW Moxie October 24, 2012 at 12:52 AM #

    I just got the pingback on this post and I am cracking up over here. I’m laughing because when I did the Sock-It-to-Me a couple of years ago, I was EIGHT MONTHS LATE on thanking the person who sent socks to me, and I’M the freakin’ organizer. Yeah. So how’s THAT for a slacker? 🙂 My mom’s cool; she’ll be understanding! 🙂

    • mollystrz October 25, 2012 at 7:57 AM #

      BAAAHAHAHAHAHAHA Well, I don’t feel TOO bad now, I guess. Good to know I’m among kindered spirits.

      You think you’ll do another SITM this year?

  2. MommyLady October 24, 2012 at 6:38 AM #

    I know how life can get BUT WOW!!!! A whole year??? LOL You are quite welcome. It took me a loooooong time and looking at several sock sites to find the purr-fect ones. I’m glad you like them.

    • mollystrz October 25, 2012 at 7:56 AM #

      RIGHT? GAH. I’m so sorry about that. But it’s so true, I love, love, LOVE them! THANK YOU!

  3. Franziska May 25, 2014 at 6:45 PM #

    I think this is among the most significant information for me.

    And i’m glad reading your article. But wanna remark
    on few general things, The website style is perfect, the
    articles is really nice : D. Good job, cheers

Leave a Reply

