let me back up a minute, or, that one time when i used to bake things.

10 Oct

Back in, oh, I dunno, February (yes, FEBRUARY. No. Judging.) I pulled out this recipe I found—I honestly have no idea from where—for buttermilk chocolate donuts.

AND THE GODS REJOICED!

NOT BECAUSE THEY ARE REALLY INTO DONUTS OR ANYTHING, BUT BECAUSE I FINALLY PUT TO USE THE MINI-DONUT PAN I BOUGHT FOR SWEDE A COUPLE CHRISTMASES AGO!

I’M SORRY! I’LL STOP YELLING NOW!

(Though remind me some time to tell you how later that same month I put the pan to use again to make mini mac’n’cheese bites, having discovered neither Swede nor his roommate had a mini muffin tin. What’s up with that, amirite? Thankfully, roommate had the genius idea to use the mini donut pan, which is how we discovered that mini mac’n’cheese donuts are manna from heaven. The end.)

(And now I guess no reminder is needed, since I just told you how it all went down. Thanks anyway, though.)

I remember two things about making these dense, chocolate rounds (and did I mention it was FebruaryohmyGodthatwaseightmonthsagoI’msurprisedIrememberanythingatall): A) The donuts themselves were a little dry, IMHO. Everyone else seemed to love them, though, (and by everyone I mean my Tuesday Night Dinner women, and God knows they were probably half in the bag) so maybe I just have a donut deficiency? And 2) There was an extraordinary amount of leftover ganache topping. EXTRAORDINARY. Granted, the leftovers made a supreme ice cream topping, but seriously. EXTRAORDINARY. AMOUNT.

(PS–I may have overfilled the wells by a…lot…hence why some of the donuts look like they are bulging at their chocolate seams.)

I think we eventually threw the remaining amount out (chocolate lovers across the nation, you can begin weeping now), which I feel bad about, because Hi, wasting food. But if it’s a choice between wasting food and a diabetic coma, well, at the time I had private health insurance which covers approximately half a pap smear every two years, and I didn’t think they’d even cover letting me prick my own finger, so not wanting to develop diabetes due to an overload of chocolate ganache, into the trash it went.

I’ll have to try making these donuts again sometime, maybe adjust the recipe or cooking time to get a less dry donut.

Or I could always just go to the local bakery and be done with it.

It’s a toss up, really.

One Response to “let me back up a minute, or, that one time when i used to bake things.”

  1. atyjoly October 14, 2012 at 6:07 AM #

    Hiya MollyMcPolish! how hv u been? we at the TCS bakers are starting on a new cakebook soon and why don’t you rejoin the group!

Leave a Reply

