music week (the second) at mcpolish: who knows?

16 May

The other day I realized that it’s been more than 10 years since my jerk of a friend* X introduced me to UNKLE and the Psyence Fiction album. And more than 10 years later, this album still rocks my socks off. A bunch of artists are featured throughout, and this jam in particular highlights Richard Ashcroft of The Verve. (Also, X introduced me to The Verve’s Urban Hymns album which is So. Much. More. than just Bittersweet Symphony. Check it out sometime.)

Dreamy. The song, that is, not Richard Ashcroft. Though I’m sure some people find him dreamy. Unfortunately for him I’m not one of those people.

 

*He’s not s jerk, I swear. I only say that because I realized that every other time I reference a friend I’m always saying, “my sweet friend,” or “my dear friend,” or whatever, like all my friends are saints and angels. And you know what? They’re not. Some of my friends are assholes. And you know what else? Sometimes I’M an asshole. But in this case, X really is a good dude. I promise I’m not making that up.

2 Responses to “music week (the second) at mcpolish: who knows?”

  1. AR May 16, 2012 at 10:33 AM #

    Richard Ashcroft’s first solo album is pretty good too; I Get My Beat is a damn great song, in fact. And Song for the Lovers is pretty darn good.
    Also, I love the song “Lucky Man” which is on Urban Hymns, and not enough people love that album, in my opinion. Good call.

    • mollystrz May 16, 2012 at 10:39 AM #

      LUCKY MAN. YES.

Leave a Reply

