being all productive and whatnot: going for the goal

4 May

So back in January, as I was putting together my goals for this year, I was looking at my list and realized quickly it was rather…lacking in the excitement department. Don’t get me wrong, I have some terrific goals set for myself this year, but they’re just so…responsible, like save money and be kind to spiders. I asked the Swede what was on his list and he immediately said jumping out of an airplane.

Jumping out of an airplane is WAY cooler than anything I came up with.

Though to be fair, the thought of skydiving makes me wet my pants when I have both feet on the ground, so believe me when I say I don’t think that’s going to be the pizazz added to my list.

So I thought and thought and hemmed and hawed and wrung my hands in an anxious manner for a month or so, until it came to me. A simple, yet fun goal to strive for in 2012, one that fit my personality to a T: Visit 12 new restaurants and blog about it.

And lo!, dear Interwebers! How I have attacked this goal with gusto! And of course have forgotten to bring my camera with me to half the places! But thankfully I’ve remembered on several occasions, and on others have at least had my phone with me to take a few semi-okay plate shots.

So join me, won’t you? For a recap of my first step toward achieving one of my 2012 goals as I pay a visit to: the Publican.

A few weeks ago, my sweet friend, whom I shall refer to as The U, and I made plans for brunch. I love brunch. It’s entirely possible that it is my favorite meal of the weekend. How can it not be? Have you ever BEEN to a brunch buffet? Two words for you: OMELET. STATION. Two more words for you: CARVING STATION.

If I ever die in public, I hope it’s at brunch. But not until I’ve had my share of sausage patties and/or links.

What?

Anyway.

Through a quick text exchange we decided to meet at the Publican, which we were both delighted about. I was surprised that The U suggested it, however, as the Publican’s big thing is being all about meat, in particular, pork. Sausages, pork belly, bacon, if it is on or comes from a pig, they want you to eat it. And The U? The U hasn’t eaten pork in about 15 years. But whatever, we happily made our way to the restaurant.

I won’t bore you with details, because that’s what serious restaurant critics are for. So here’s what you need to know about brunching at the Publican. (I can’t vouch for their dinner, but I can say that the menu looked like it would amazing your f-ing pants off.)

THE LOW DOWN:

Pros:

*The food. Holy pants, this was some delicious brunch. Particularly, as I mentioned, if you are a carnivore, and being a McPolish, I can’t help but be, amirite? I mean, I guess I could be anti-meat, but I don’t think that would suit me very well and besides you guys they have lamb sausage on the menu LAMB SAUSAGE ZOMG IT’S LIKE THE MOTHERSHIP IS CALLING TO ME I LOVE LAMB. So of course I had the maple-glazed pork shoulder, which was perfectly fall-apart tender, smoky and just a little salty, with a fried egg on top and all of that set upon a pile of grits and braised greens, with pickled onions as garnish.

To be fair, it was a very difficult decision between that and the lamb sausage dish, but in the end I had to go with my heart. The heart wants what it wants, after all. And my heart wants another trip to the Publican for brunch so I can fill my stomach with lamb sausage.

The U had quiche made with ramps, spring onions and gruyere with a salad, and a side of the most delicious hash browns I’ve had in a long time. They were flat and round and perfectly crispy and salty on the outside, but still potato-y on the inside.

*On a price scale, brunch was somewhere in the middle. It wasn’t cheap, but considering the fame and the “name” that is Publican, I was expecting it to be quite a few dollars more, and was happily surprised that it wasn’t.

*The service. Despite how busy it was, the staff seemed pretty upbeat and unruffled. As someone who was a waitress for 15 years, I totally respect that. I also totally respect our server for not slapping me, as I was That Girl who, in the span of 30 seconds, changed her damn order three damn times because she couldn’t damn well decide on what she wanted to eat, dammit. Sir who was waiting on us, I am so, so sorry. I promise I will never do that again.

The Cons:

*The wait. Fair warning: If you show up for brunch and you don’t have a reservation, expect to wait. Quite some time. Granted, they kindly usher you over to the standing bar so you can have a cocktail while you wait, but still, you’ll be on your feet for some time before you sit. That’s a bummer only because it’s that much more time that you’re watching heavenly plates of food trundle by you and it takes all the strength you have not to clothesline a server and steal whatever is in their hand, licking the plate clean before they come to.

What?

I didn’t actually do that, you guys.

I just….thought about it.

*The drinks. More specifically, the drink prices. The drinks themselves were delicious, I have no qualms about that. They just seemed ever-so-slightly overpriced, IMHO. I know they’re using buzzword-esque ingredients, but had they been a buck or two cheaper, I probably would have ordered a second one. I’ve been around the block (and by block I mean bars) enough times to know the sweet spot of price points, and the Publican is just slightly missing the mark.

*Errm….hmmm… To be honest, I’m trying to think of a third con to keep things even. But I really can’t. I guess maybe if you’re not a fan of communal tables, you probably wouldn’t like this joint? Because the majority of seating is at long, wooden communal tables. But I enjoyed that aspect, personally.

Overall, my rating, on a scale of One to Go?

Go.

One restaurant down, 11 more in the queue.

10 Responses to “being all productive and whatnot: going for the goal”

  1. Beibei Wu May 4, 2012 at 8:36 PM #

    Brilliant post! Good luck with the 11 more restaurants! ^^

    http://www.beilovebei.com

    • Solitary Diner May 4, 2012 at 8:40 PM #

      I totally want to steal your goal. Brilliant!

      • mollystrz May 4, 2012 at 10:42 PM #

        Steal away! I support everyone who seeks to achieve this goal!

    • mollystrz May 4, 2012 at 10:42 PM #

      Thank you! I hope my belly can handle it all. 🙂

  2. Steph May 6, 2012 at 8:03 PM #

    I had lamb sausage this morning.

    That is all.

    • mollystrz May 6, 2012 at 8:05 PM #

      I am totally jealous of your morning, yo. That is just the perfect way to start the day, I’m sure of it.

      • Steph May 6, 2012 at 8:12 PM #

        It was tasty! You should go back and try their lamb sausage. It would probably be worth it. 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. productive goal-keeping, or, if you’d like fries with that « McPolish.com - May 21, 2012

    […] Food. Now obviously, as I discussed with The Publican, I am wholly on board with meat. But unlike the Publican, Medium Rare specializes in one dish: […]

  2. productive goal-keeping, or eggspecting great things « McPolish.com - November 21, 2012

    […] already sang the praises of the Publican as an enormously delicious brunch spot. And if you’re going upscale, I fully stand by my […]

  3. redo: going for the goal and the like « McPolish.com - January 9, 2013

    […] HEY HOW’S IT GOING, REMEMBER THAT TIME I WAS ALL, “GOALS! RESTUARANTS! 2012!” […]

Leave a Reply

