march photo challenge, a recap

9 Apr

Back at the very end of February I decided to take on the March Photo Challenge. Since the only thing I do on a very, very regular basis is breath, I figured making it through a full month of posting daily photos would be quite the accomplishment.

And for me, it is.

Well, for the first 25 or so odd days.

There may have been a couple of snafus in there, and then there was the whole leaving for vacation thing (which had not been decided upon at the beginning of the month, otherwise I doubt I would have tried to tackle the challenge, given that I would have, at best, intermittent Interwebs access while lolling about on sandy beaches, am I right?) but overall, it was a month of learning for This Girl. In no particular order:

Lessons I Learned While Participating In the March Photo Challenge:

  • There are only so many objects in one’s house that you can shoot and then somehow twist their symbolism into something of a deeper meaning than simply being a photo of Mr. Coffee.
  • And I don’t even like coffee. Mr. or otherwise.
  • My camera phone takes surprisingly decent pictures.
  • Granted, those pictures were then typically heavily edited, but decent base pictures nonetheless.
  • Sometimes I am forgetful, and posts would not happen until the absolute eleventh hour.
  • Wait, no, I already knew that. Scratch this one off the Lessons Learned list.
  • When you take pictures of your shoes while sitting at an airport bar, people start looking at you a little funny.
  • I am no Ansel Adams or Annie Leibovitz. I will never win a Pulitzer for photography. (Or anything else, for that matter.) But that doesn’t mean I don’t have a love for photography all the same.

Would I do it again? Yes, yes I would. I like forcing myself to think and see things around me in different ways. And then again, some days you get lucky and the perfect photo opportunity presents itself, which is a pretty cool feeling.

Did you participate in a March photo challenge? What was your experience like? 

3 Responses to “march photo challenge, a recap”

  1. Emma April 9, 2012 at 2:41 PM #

    You are so awesome. ❤

  2. Steph April 9, 2012 at 3:47 PM #

    I consider myself a “connoisseur” or the Pulitzer prize on fiction (you know, because I’m reading through the whole list and all – totally makes me a connoisseur, no?), and I have to say, you could most definitely snag one of those babies one day. 🙂

    • Steph April 9, 2012 at 3:47 PM #

      **connoisseur OF the

Leave a Reply

