singing, couponing, and taxes: the life of the unemployed

6 Feb

I’ve recently found myself on the short end of the employment stick, and while there is much to dislike about unemployment, there is much to rejoice in. Here, a top 12 list of Good Things, re: Unemployment:

  1. More time to research the actual words of songs, rather than what I think they are and have been singing for some time now. For example, the correct lyrics to the Four Tops’ song are actually, “ain’t no woman like the one I got,” NOT “ain’t no woman like a one-eyed slut.” Tell your friends.
  2. When I go to the public library, I don’t feel so greedy when I check out seven books at once; now I can actually make a valiant attempt—and succeed—at reading all of them in the allotted two-week checkout time, instead of pretending like I have such exceptional time management that I can work, cook, eat, clean, exercise and read multiple books in as many weeks and don’t actually need to sleep.
  3. I’ve always wanted to take up knitting.
  4. No I haven’t.
  5. More time to become the extreme couponer I’ve always wanted to be, even though those people terrify me.
  6. Particularly because now that I ain’t got no job, saving money is more important than ever.
  7. Except that, even in lean times, do I really need 1,247 packages of ramen noodles that I bought for -$5.22?
  8. Finally a chance to dedicate more time to my passion: writing the next Great American Haiku.
  9. Well, it is tax time….
  10.   One word for you: Pinterest.
  11.   I can finally go through the boxes I stashed in Swede’s basement a year ago and hopefully find my snowpants, even though apparently Old Man Winter is on vacation and was last seen slathering on SPF 75 and making a run for the beach.  Also, maybe I can find my salad spinner and bring it back to Chicago with me. I miss my salad spinner. Do you need your salad spun? I could do that for you. First spin is free, but after that, I’m charging. Gal’s got to make a living somehow, you know.
  12.   More time for prayer. Because Holy Jesus I need a job if for no other reason than it’s been a week and a half and I’m already bored.

Now if you’ll excuse me I have some very important things to handle, such as making a nuisance of myself at the public library and manically pinning more things to my “Stuff to Wear” and “Wall Hangings” boards. For serious, people, it’s my busy season.

3 Responses to “singing, couponing, and taxes: the life of the unemployed”

  1. Camels & Chocolate February 9, 2012 at 10:54 AM #

    OK, two things: I’m SORRY about your job situation. That sucks. BUT knitting is super fun–I think you would really like it! Just saying…. =)

    • mollystrz February 9, 2012 at 5:33 PM #

      Thanks, Kristin! Totally stinks, but I’m thinking it’s also a good thing, with lots of potential opportunities. As for knitting…hmmm…I may have to rethink that one!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. five things I’ve been meaning to tell you « McPolish.com - February 6, 2013

    […] like to take up knitting. I know I once kind of joked that I wanted to learn to knit, but not really, but it turns out I’m actually now all, “Huh. I think I’d like to try that.” So I checked a […]

Leave a Reply

