bite me

23 Jan

Swede and I spent New Year’s Eve as we have the past two years, drinking and talking smack with some of our favorite friends, the funeral directors.

They know how to party.

While there was no encounter with a boot to be had while ringing in 2012, there were other, much tastier treats involving noodles. And cheese.

Which, if you know me, are two of my favorite food groups.

Mare made mac and cheese bites, and damn if I didn’t hoard them all the ding dong night like they were winning lottery tickets. Which they were. Winning lottery tickets for my mouth. And then, THEN, just when I thought we’d devoured them all, Mare goes and pulls out ones she’d been HIDING in the MICROWAVE.  Which she really wasn’t HIDING, she was actually just keeping them away from the CAT who likes to JUMP on COUNTERS. WHY am I CAPITALIZING random WORDS? Because eating CAT HAIR is GROSS.

Needless to say, this new discovery of a whole tray of these delicious muffin tin-shaped treats appeared at the perfect time when I’d had my fill of champagne and had changed into my expandable pants. Translation: Right around 2 am. The only right thing to do, then, obviously, was pop five of those babies in my mouth give a grand wave and say, “Happy New Year, bitches, I’m going to bed.”

Which I did.

And then last Saturday it was Book Club day (we read Tom Perotta’s The Leftovers. Collectively, there were many mixed feelings about the book, but that’s neither here nor there right now). Book Club really has nothing to do with New Year’s Eve, except that it kind of does, because I decided I’d be all awesome and whatnot and make mac and cheese bites for the gals.

And I’m so glad I did. Because they are so easy. And so delicious. And most likely, you’ll eat them, and no matter what time it is you’ll want to shove five of them in your mouth, then give a grand wave and say, “Happy New Year, bitches, I’m going to bed.”

In a good way.

Recipe pulled from Dinners for a Year and Beyond

(P.S. I totally left out the nutmeg, and I’m pretty happy about that.)

Mac and Cheese Bites 

adapted from a recipe in Food & Wine magazine November, 2007

makes about 36 bites

1 1/2 tablespoons butter
2 tablespoons flour
3/4 cup milk
1 1/2 cups, packed, sharp cheddar cheese, shredded
1/4 cup Parmesan cheese, grated, plus more for sprinkling on top
3 large egg yolks
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/8 teaspoon nutmeg, freshly grated
1/2 pound elbow macaroni, cooked and drained

Preheat oven to 425 degrees. Spray a 24-count, nonstick mini muffin pan with cooking spray. Set aside.

In a large saucepan, melt the butter over medium heat. Whisk in the flour and cook for about 1 minute. Whisk in the milk and bring to a boil. Cook, whisking occasionally, for about 2 -3 minutes until thickened. Add cheddar and Parmesan cheeses and stir to melt. Remove from heat and stir in egg yolks, salt and nutmeg. Stir in macaroni.

Spoon slightly rounded tablespoons of macaroni and cheese into the prepared mini muffin pan. Each cup should be filled to the top. Pack each one down gently. Sprinkle with remaining Parmesan cheese.

Bake for about 10 minutes, until golden and sizzling. Let cool for 10 – 15 minutes. Using a teaspoon, carefully loosen the mac and cheese bites and transfer to a platter to serve.

To make ahead, bake and cool mac and cheese bites. Sprinkle with a little more Parmesan cheese. Package and refrigerate. Place bites on a baking sheet and bake in preheated 400 degree oven for 5 minutes. Serve warm.

4 Responses to “bite me”

  1. Solitary Diner January 23, 2012 at 9:21 AM #

    Wow. Those look incredible.

  2. Emma January 24, 2012 at 10:03 AM #

    Molly, you can make those for me ANY time. ❤

  3. mary January 24, 2012 at 10:42 AM #

    I ALWAYS leave out the nutmeg. That does not belong with my cheese. I put in black pepper instead. Glad you liked them!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. let me back up a minute, or, that one time when i used to bake things. « McPolish.com - October 10, 2012

    […] remind me some time to tell you how later that same month I put the pan to use again to make mini mac’n’cheese bites, having discovered neither Swede nor his roommate had a mini muffin tin. What’s up with that, […]

Leave a Reply

