the importance of shutting up and shutting off

16 Jan

I’ll be the first to admit that I’m not the best at turning off my brain. More often than not it just keeps whirring and whirring and zinging and zonging at all hours of the day and night. “Monkey chatter” someone once called it.

Swede sent me this article last week, and it struck a chord immediately. While I don’t watch half as much TV as I used to, I spend hours on a computer at work, and most evenings as well. I tried to have an Internet Sabbath of my own this past weekend; I was semi-successful.

(Full disclosure: Sunday was a complete bust when it came to staying off the Interwebs. On the plus side, I never got out of my pajamas. In my book, that is an incredibly successful day in its own right.)

It’s tricky, though, shutting off. Even just for an hour, two hours. But when I’m able to do it, I realize how valuable it is. It’s like exercise: I know that when I do it regularly I feel better and more balanced, calmer. And when I don’t do it I go haywire.

At first, this is just another thing to remember, another thing to add to my To Do list. Which sounds ridiculous, if you think about it: “#3: Turn off all electronic devices.” As if I am constantly in an airplane.

But if a reminder is what I need to force myself to slow down and shut the damn monkeys up, then so be it.

How do you turn off? How do you get your quiet time? 

2 Responses to “the importance of shutting up and shutting off”

  1. Solitary Diner January 16, 2012 at 12:39 AM #

    I apparently do a very bad job of turning off, as it’s almost an hour past my bedtime, and I’m still up reading blogs. If you figure out a solution, please let me know!

  2. Alison January 16, 2012 at 12:17 PM #

    Since I know you’re a fellow “dance around the house for no reason” person, my method may strike a chord. Turn on dance music really loud and dance around the house. I can literally do that for like 20 minutes and think about NOTHING else the whole time. It’s the best.

Leave a Reply

