photo friday: remembrance

6 Jan

About this time, give or take, last year I was getting ready to go to Morocco to visit my sweet friend Turner and her Mr. Chris. I had no idea what was in store for me for those 10 days, or the months to follow, but it was, I now know, the beginning of a Big Change.

And by that, I do not mean menopause, just FYI.

In this coming year, I predict there will be more changes if for no other reason than change is inevitable and because while 2011 shifted the earth underneath me that shifting has now settled enough that I would like to make tweaks on where things landed.

So here’s to remembering the great happenings of 2011, and here’s to looking forward to what 2012 will bring.

Straw poll: What’s on your 2012 To Do list? Leave a note in the comments section, and let’s compare notes…

8 Responses to “photo friday: remembrance”

  1. Solitary Diner January 6, 2012 at 7:15 AM #

    My 2012 list includes studying furiously, getting into a fellowship program, and trying to regain some semblance of health. If I still have any time and energy left over, I’d love to actually enjoy myself a bit in the process.

    Are you going to tell us more about the “Big Change” of 2011?

    • mollystrz January 6, 2012 at 8:23 AM #

      Ah! The Big Change was the move from DC to Chicago back in March. It’s been quite the experience….

  2. Steph January 6, 2012 at 8:52 AM #

    I’m planning on finishing up the Pulitzer list. I think I have 25 books left?

    Other than that, I guess I want to keep trying to workout about 3/week (and more if I feel like it). 🙂

    Glad you’re blogging again. I missed it.

  3. Robyn January 6, 2012 at 11:34 AM #

    Wow, what a year you had Molly! I loved kicking off 2011 with you and making memories together in a far away land. I am so thankful for your visit along with the time, effort, energy and courage it took.
    I look forward to many more adventures with you and wonder where we will meet in 2012?! Thank you for inspiring me and for your friendship! I am a better person because of you.

    Now, I need to start looking forward and owning up to some daydreaming and planning for the upcoming year. Your post gave me a good reminder that it’s time to get busy!

  4. Camels & Chocolate January 10, 2012 at 12:23 PM #

    I’m terrible at making resolutions, let alone keeping them, so I have more goals I’d like to work toward than anything.

    Land more cover stories vs. smaller front-of-the-book blurbs.
    Start a novel. (Er. Finishing is a whole other story.)
    Focus on more lighting techniques with my photography.
    Get over my fear of public speaking.

    There. Now you must keep me accountable since I’ve put it out there!

    • mollystrz January 12, 2012 at 11:08 AM #

      Now that I know your goals, Kristin, I’ll be keeping tabs on them! 😉 I agree, goals are much better than resolutions…I’m still on the hunt for some “Fun” goals, right now all of mine are more on the Grown Up Let’s Be All Responsible and Whatnot bent.

  5. Anwar January 12, 2012 at 6:25 PM #

    I try to keep my goals simple, and then its amazing how much ends up changing. I already had a much bigger 2011 than I had expected, and I have some ideas on 2012 but a few of them are a bit secret until I’m ready to reveal them to the world. But generally I have a few like traveling to somewhere new each year, etc.

    Awesome photo too. Morocco is on my list of things to see one day.

    • mollystrz January 13, 2012 at 9:30 PM #

      Go! Go! Go! to Morocco–trust me, you will not regret it!

Leave a Reply

