higher and higher

2 Jan

The Swede took his nephew on a flying experience for Christmas.

Image

“Do you want to go up in the plane with us?” he asked me.

“F. No,” I said.

“You don’t?”

“Baby, I don’t like flying in big jet airliners, I have no desire to go up in a plane smaller than a puddle-jumper.”

Image

“Fair enough.”

Part of me thinks maybe I should have gone, tackled my fear of flying or some such grand gesture toward being a more self-aware person.

And then another part of me is pretty sure that had I gone up with Swede and nephew, so too would have my lunch, all over the pilot’s lap.

Image

5 Responses to “higher and higher”

  1. The Swede January 2, 2012 at 2:17 PM #

    Hey! That was a good time. 🙂

  2. Megan Wittling (@bestoffates) January 3, 2012 at 7:17 PM #

    Now you still have a fear to conquer! And everyone knows all the cool people still have a fear to conquer.

  3. emily January 4, 2012 at 3:57 AM #

    Happy New Year Molly!

  4. Camels & Chocolate January 10, 2012 at 12:24 PM #

    I did this with Scott a week before we left San Francisco. I had given him a flying lesson for Christmas courtesy of Groupon, and I got to go up with him, as did Ella. Initially, I was also of the F. No mindset–I am EXTREMELY claustrophobic–and hate flying in anything smaller than a plane with six seats in each row, but it was actually really cool.

    • mollystrz January 12, 2012 at 11:08 AM #

      Swede REALLY wants to take flying lessons, and I think if he were to go up again I’d think about going up with him…maybe….perhaps…Hmmm…I’ll have to think about that one. 😉

Leave a Reply

