photo friday: setting sail

16 Sep

Have you ever seen the movie The Goonies?

No?

What is wrong with you?

Gah!

Go watch it.

Right now.

I’ll wait.

Great! You’re back!

So you know that part at the end when One-Eyed Willie’s pirate ship comes sailing out of the cave where it’s been hidden for so long, and the crowd is all gathered on shore, and the news reporter is all bewildered and whatnot and says, unbelievingly, “It looks like…a…pah-rit ship…”

You know that part?

Is one of my and Sister #3’s favorite lines.

We also like to quote the movie Overboard.

“A falsetto child?”

“Captain Karl! Why is the land on the wrong side of the yacht?”

“I just! ATE A BUG!”

But anyway, back to The Goonies.

This photo always makes me think of  that last scene in The Goonies.

Though as far as I know, there are no pirates on Lake Michigan. Again, AS FAR AS I KNOW.

Though I’ve never understood why the TV reporter says “pah-rit” with a southern accent. They’re supposed to be in Oregon, for God’s sake.

6 Responses to “photo friday: setting sail”

  1. Barb September 16, 2011 at 8:38 AM #

    There’s a new museum in Astoria, Oregon, that’s dedicated to Oregon film, but mostly the Goonies. No, I haven’t made it there yet, but I HAVE been to the Goonies house. And the prison.

    • mollystrz September 18, 2011 at 10:05 PM #

      Jealous. I totally want to go.

  2. Kristin September 16, 2011 at 11:51 AM #

    That is a gorgeous picture.

    • mollystrz September 18, 2011 at 10:06 PM #

      Thank you! There are always some lovely, lovely boats out on the lake, thankfully I had my camera with me this time!

  3. Solitary Diner September 16, 2011 at 5:12 PM #

    “Heyyyyyy yoooouuuu guuuuuuys.” *Sniff* Love the Goonies and the photo.

    • mollystrz September 18, 2011 at 10:06 PM #

      It’s one of those movies I never get tired of. Le sigh.

Leave a Reply

