training report v: well shit.

10 Aug

So.

The Chicago Rock’n’Roll half-marathon is a mere four days away.

And truth be told, I am woefully undertrained.

I also, for the record, take full responsibility for my undertrainedeness.

*It was nobody’s fault but my own that there was a good two weeks there where the closest I came to running was watching Captain America sprint across the big screen.

(Dude. That guy can run. Like, fast. And he doesn’t even seem to be winded! I need Stanley Tucci and his magic serum in MY life! And crazy extremist Nazis! Which I think may actually be a redundant description! But whatever!)

*It was nobody’s fault but my own that I chose to sleep in Sunday rather than get up at a time when it would not be so ass-hot for my long run.

*It was nobody’s fault but my own that I’ve been distracted by online fall clothes shopping.

*And it’s nobody’s fault but my own that the above statement has absolutely nothing to do with my lack of training whatsoever.

No judging.

Well, okay, you can judge me. I kind of deserve it.

But also: pray for me.  My goal at this point is to Not Die.

Here’s hoping.

5 Responses to “training report v: well shit.”

  1. Dresden August 10, 2011 at 8:39 AM #

    ruuuuuuuuuun, Molly, ruuuuuuuun!!
    (that was said in my best Bubba Gump)

    • mollystrz August 10, 2011 at 9:00 AM #

      hahahahahahaha I’m trying, I’m trying!

  2. Jenny August 10, 2011 at 9:19 AM #

    Molly:
    I foolishly signed up for a half in October. I am well on my way to being undertrained for that one, too. At least you will have the music to keep you motivated the day of!

    Have fun, whatever you do!

  3. The Swede August 10, 2011 at 2:48 PM #

    When you are done, you get a cake.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. from the file pit: rocky road cake | McPolish.com - July 29, 2015

    […] Unless you’re talking about training for a half marathon. […]

Leave a Reply

