photo friday: things past

5 Aug


I got a new laptop this week, and am mid-process of having half my stuff available to me, and the other half stuck on my old laptop, which I can only use sparingly because The Swede took my power cord back to DC with him, and, well, my battery on that laptop is for shit.

But that’s neither here nor there. What IS here is that I was going through some old photos on an external hard drive and came across this one, which is from a trip to a place that would become my absolute favorite winery in Virginia, Aspen Dale.

The Swede and I first went out there around(ish) this time last year, and I fell in love. You know how wine people always tell you to “drink that with red meat” or “sip this with a soft cheese,” or “for God’s sake, woman, stop guzzling”? The treat of Aspen Dale is that they actually GIVE you a plate of little bits of food that pair well with their wines, like a small piece of pheasant sausage, or a chunk of dark chocolate, a small round bite of goat cheese.

Delectable.

The grounds were simply gorgeous as well, which sealed my love. So much so that it was the last stop on my Go Away Wine Tour 2011 in March that The Swede arranged for me and the gals.

But I hope it won’t be the last stop forever. Something that good and wonderful should be experienced over and over and over, as many times as possible.

4 Responses to “photo friday: things past”

  1. Emma August 5, 2011 at 10:28 AM #

    I’ve still never been to a winery… perhaps this should be my first stop?

    • mollystrz August 5, 2011 at 2:14 PM #

      Yes!

      Also, I can recommend a ton of other good ones. 🙂

  2. Camels & Chocolate August 9, 2011 at 11:22 AM #

    Now, this just makes me think Harry Potter! Something about lamp posts…

    • mollystrz August 9, 2011 at 12:38 PM #

      Well, it is a pretty magical place…heh….

Leave a Reply

