since the rapture never showed, now i can get back to my to-do list

23 May

So on Mother’s Day, as I was sprawled on the cold, tile of the bathroom floor, having just barfed up the contents of an earlier Mother’s Day brunch, it occurred to me that maybe I take on too much at once.

Not that I’m saying the stress of everyday life made me toss my cookies (or rather, my cheesy hashbrowns), I’m just saying that it gave me time to think.

And it’s true. I take on too much sometimes. Often. Whatever. I like to think that I am Super Girl who can do Everything At Once. And yes, I am Super, and I am a Girl (and I do like to wear tights) but no, I really do not have to do everything at once PUT DOWN THE COOKBOOK WHILE YOU’RE TAKING A WRITING WORKSHOP AND JUST STARTED A NEW JOB FOR THE LOVE OF ALL THAT IS HOLY AND DECENT.

Right?

Right.

Anyshoes, so the past couple of weeks I’ve been thinking about what I have going on and prioritizing. Some things have gotten pushed to the side to be saved for a few months from now when other projects have settled down.

But some things have stuck around.

Which is where you all come in.

Yes, you.

And you.

And over there in the corner—you.

One of my goals for the past couple of years has been to run a half-marathon. I’ve even attempted to train for one once or twice. Or at least I’ve certainly thought about training for it quite often.

But to be honest, I don’t particularly like running. I like the idea of running, and even more I like the results.

(It makes my legs and ass look terrific.)

(Oh, hello, I’m McPolish. Nice to meet you. On occasion I can be very, very vain. And you?)

And besides the physical results, I can honestly say that after every race I’ve run I’ve felt phenomenal. Like I am a fucking rock star. I think a lot of that elation stems from simply A) finishing something, and 2) making something I really don’t care to be doing my bitch.

So the half-marathon goal remains on my current, immediate Want To Do list.

(As does making a Target run for Qtips, but that’s neither here nor there for the moment.)

And that’s where you all come in, as I need you, dear Interwebers, to hold me accountable, and hold my hand as I go through training, and bearing with me if/when I post droning musings about training. I’m very good at giving myself a goal then never following through on it because no one besides me knows that said goal exists.

But now you know. And now you can bug me about it, and I will stay on top of it because I know you’ll be watching. I’ll keep you posted on my training if you promise to pinch me through the Interwebs’ ether when I don’t seem to be holding up my end of the bargain.

Game on.

The race is Sunday, August 14.

T-minus three months and counting.

9 Responses to “since the rapture never showed, now i can get back to my to-do list”

  1. honeymustardseed May 23, 2011 at 7:11 AM #

    Actually, one of the first things I think when I get up in the mornings is often how much I loathe running. I say this not because I’m self absorbed (kinda) but more to highlight how much of a rock star I think you are for taking on such a task. Do it to it. And then buy yourself a pair of heels to show off those hot calves. Yowzah.

    • mollystrz May 23, 2011 at 2:41 PM #

      I like the way you think. Shall start perusing zappos.com immediately….

  2. Steph May 23, 2011 at 7:58 AM #

    You’re on. I can be quite the “Monica” when holding people to the goals they set themselves. So you’ve been warned.

    • mollystrz May 23, 2011 at 2:41 PM #

      Are you going to show up at my house at 6 am to get me out for a run? If you do, at least bring me a bagel or something.

      • Steph May 23, 2011 at 3:49 PM #

        Deal. But you only get the bagel if you finish the run.

  3. The FSFoodie May 23, 2011 at 12:49 PM #

    Rock on! I run 5k’s…but only because brunch is yummier afterward. Not saying brunch isn’t yummy to begin with but after a 5k I feel like I earned it more than those brunch days when I wake up (when I don’t want to), brush on some mascara, and look semi-presentable for my dining partners. Pick a reward for completing that half marathon – I’ll happily remind you of it every time you try to b*tch out of training.

    As for the qtips, check out soap.com. Changed. My. World.

    • mollystrz May 23, 2011 at 2:42 PM #

      I am going to eat like the DICKENS after I finish this race. Actually, I might just throw myself in a chair and ask people to spoon-feed me things, but either way, it’s gonna be a goodfuntime.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Page not found « McPolish.com - May 27, 2011

    […] since the rapture never showed, now i can get back to my to-do list […]

  2. smells like team spirit « McPolish.com - July 20, 2011

    […] while ago, after professing my intention to complete a half-marathon, my friend Cassie sent me an email. She needed something to train for, but had already done a […]

Leave a Reply

