calling all bookies (but not those kind of bookies)

18 May

As you may or may not remember, I recently moved. I still do not have a place of my own, which means that the majority of my belongings are still cluttering up stored in The Swede’s basement.

Which means that I don’t really have a TV.

Which means that I haven’t really watched a lot of TV lately.

Which is probably a good thing?

Which means there’s more time for reading!

Which is good because summer is on its way!

Which means it could show up tomorrow! Or in two months! This is Chicago! HARD TO SAY!

Which means I need to be prepared.

Which means I am taking suggestions for the McPolish Summer Reading List.

Which means you should leave your suggestions in the comments, and I shall report back as I check each book off my list.

Please.

And thank you.

(And which means I’ll try to be better about this than I was last year.)

2 Responses to “calling all bookies (but not those kind of bookies)”

  1. Steph May 18, 2011 at 8:23 AM #

    I’ve got a few suggestions (thanks to this little Pulitzer project I’ve been on the past few months, I’ve come across some gems!).

    Books I think you might enjoy:
    1) The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier and Clay by Michael Chabon (I cannot get the story out of my head, it’s just so fun and compelling).

    2) A Thousand Acres by Jane Smiley (just finished this one and was amazed. This woman knows how to write a female lead. Incredible).

    3) The Known World – Edward Jones (historical fiction at it finest).

    4) A shorty but goody, The Bridge of San Luis Rey by Thorton Wilder. Very very short, but will stick with you.

  2. Annliese May 19, 2011 at 10:30 AM #

    If you haven’t already, you must read Bossypants (yep, just like the rest of America right now). It really is as good as you think it might be, and will provoke earnest guffawing that will make onlookers stare awkwardly.

Leave a comment