music week at mcpolish

28 Mar

I’ve been doing a lot of driving lately, more than I feel like I’ve done in a long time—from DC to Chicago, and now to and from work, all over the Chicagoland area to see friends, you get the idea. And if there is one thing that saves me while in the car, battling traffic jams, it’s other jams—music ones, that is.

So to that tune we’re kicking off Music Week here at McPolish. Hope you enjoy the cuts. And as always, if you have something new I should be listening to, an artist that you really love, you should definitely let me know. My ears are open.

This first one is a song my friend Megan (one of my go-to people when in need of new music. She is a consummate mixed-CD-maker, and I trust her musical judgment without question) put on a mix she titled, “See You Soon, Molly!” and handed over the day before The Swede and I drove to Chicago. The entire mix is splendid, but this was one of the standouts. I’m pretty sure The Swede made us listen to it approximately 17 times between the Penna turnpike and the Illinois state line. Not that I minded, though, because that Josh Ritter has one silky voice.

3 Responses to “music week at mcpolish”

  1. The Swede March 28, 2011 at 10:30 AM #

    That is a good song. 🙂

  2. Steph March 28, 2011 at 11:13 AM #

    I totally thought he was singing, “The angels laid Hemingway” which sounds dirtier now that I write it out like this, but I swear it sounded really pleasant when listening to the song.

  3. Mary's Brother March 28, 2011 at 5:50 PM #

    In a similar Josh Ritter vein, check out Justin Townes Earle. Great singer songwriter. You shant be disappointed.

Leave a Reply

