perspective: so there was that

16 Mar

Last weekend I packed up my entire apartment, stored a large portion of my belongings in The Swede’s basement and house, packed a smidge of it in my car to drive 700 miles with it to Chicago, and left some things behind to sit and wait, lonely style, in my now nearly empty apartment because it couldn’t fit in the car and The Swede promised that when he got back to DC he’d handle it and turn in my keys for me.

And after that, we drove 12 hours from DC to Chicago.

And then after that, it was my birthday. (32 is a weird age. Anyone? Anyone? It’s kind of like turning 23. It doesn’t really mean anything. It’s certainly not bad, it’s just…32. But at least I got a pedicure.)

And then after that, I started my new job, where I proceeded to accidentally use the men’s bathroom on the first day, and on the second day, broke the heel on my boot when walking the eight blocks from the train to my office.

So it’s been fun.

I could dwell on all of these mishaps and go all DRAMA!! and Panic at the Disco!! on everyone, but I won’t. There was some drama the couple days leading up to my departure from DC, but it wasn’t actually so much drama as it was weepiness. (It happens.) And it’s been terribly strange to be back in Chicago. A large part of me feels like I’m on a weird vacation of some sort, which kind of makes sense, seeing as how for the past five years every time I’ve been here it’s because the situation has been just that—vacation.

But the reason I won’t dwell on the dramz is because as hard as it was to leave DC, I know I made the right decision. I can’t tell you exactly why, I just do. (I’m not hiding anything from you, Interwebers, it’s just I’m going on gut here, and if you’ve ever followed your gut, you know what I mean—that indescribable feeling of calm and satisfaction that you are probably crazy to feel, given outside circumstances, but there you have it, calm and satisfied = your picture in the dictionary.)

So instead of drama and WOE TO ME, I HAVE MOVED! AM SAD! CHANGE IS SCARY! GAAAAHHHH!, I wanted to share one of my favorite quotes about the city to which I’ve recently returned, a city I have always loved and adored. I read this awhile ago, and I’m not sure who the writer was on the article, or what the article was about, but it comes from a magazine called FastCompany, and I feel it is simply so, so appropriate for me right now. Maybe it is for you, too, even if you don’t call Chicago home.  

“What any Chicagoan will tell you is that the past is very much the present. It doesn’t go away. It shouldn’t. In fact, that’s Chicago’s lure and its beauty: Its ability to take what was and figure out what could be.” –FastCompany magazine

6 Responses to “perspective: so there was that”

  1. Sonja March 17, 2011 at 4:19 PM #

    😦 I’m sad you left! Good luck back home.

  2. Steph March 18, 2011 at 8:11 AM #

    Gah, I meant to comment on this. First, way to control the drama! That takes a lot of will power. I remember I was a weepy mess my first couple of weeks after I moved. And the weirdest little things would set it off, and at awesome times like while shopping at Bed Bath and Beyond. Yes. Wonderful.

    Anyway, can’t wait to hear more about your adventures in Chicago! I’m really hoping that the heel that broke was either 1) a 1 or 2 inch heel; or b) you had a pair of sneakers in your bag?

  3. Kathy August 1, 2011 at 11:01 AM #

    Love that quote about Chicago! I really enjoyed your post about moving back here from DC. I could relate in some ways, even though I recently just moved 6 blocks south and 1 bock east from my old house of 8 years, here in Chicago. But I know that is not uncommon in Chicago neighborhoods like Beverly. Anyway, I am proud of you for following your gut! I know that it is not easy, nor is change or new beginnings. I am so glad that we have connected and will actually get to meet in person soon! I am very excited to know a blogger IRL that lives close. I hope that your Monday is off to a good start and I look forward to toasting with you before this week is through! Ha, ha I rhymed… 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. calling all bookies (but not those kind of bookies) « McPolish.com - May 18, 2011

    […] you may or may not remember, I recently moved. I still do not have a place of my own, which means that the majority of my belongings are still […]

  2. around town « McPolish.com - August 17, 2011

    […] It’s been almost six months since I uprooted myself from our nation’s capital and moved back to Chicago. […]

  3. girls, girls, girls: introducing women on wednesdays « McPolish.com - March 7, 2012

    […] do something on McPolish to celebrate women during March, but then things got crazy with the whole moving and the packing and the whatnot, so…yeah, it never happened. I didn’t want to miss the […]

Leave a Reply

