10 things about dc, or: i’ll miss you, our nation’s capital, except when i won’t

9 Mar

In no particular order…

10 Things I’ll Miss About DC:

  1. Metro. I realize Washingtonians’ eyes may be bugging out at that answer, but it’s true. I don’t care about the delays or waiting for the trains, and usually I have a reverse commute, so it’s not often I am wedged into an overcrowded Metro car. And despite my proneness toward mild motion sickness, my commuting has always been my time for a little quiet, decompress at the end of the day. And when I am coming and going on Metro from The Swede’s it’s always such a pleasure to see the city waking up or powering down for the night, the sun on either side of the tracks, rising or setting. (To get to The Swede’s house the Metro goes above ground, whereas to and from my house it’s all in the underbelly tunnels.)
  2. Vinoteca. How can it not be something I’ll miss? It’s where I re-met and fell in love with The Swede. Plus, they have an amazing happy hour. Which may or may not have had something to do with me falling in love with The Swede.
  3. My apartment. Holiday brunch. Chatting into the wee hours of the night with my gals, with The Swede. Tuesday Night Dinners. Oh, if these walls could talk. Actually, you know what? It’s probably better that they don’t.
  4. Baltimore. Yes, I realize it’s a separate city. I realize that very, very much. But if you know me at all then you know that Baltimore was one of my happiest discoveries when I moved out here, and where I met some of the most awesome in my life, and I’ll miss living so close to it. Baltimore: you’re not even bored.
  5. Pat Brogan. HI PAT BROGAAAAN! *waves at radio as if Pat Brogan can see it*
  6. Rock Creek Parkway. OMFG, it was like a whole new world opened up when I learned how to make Rock Creek work to my advantage. And in the fall, the beauty of driving under an orange and gold canopy of changing leaves is nothing less than stunning.
  7. The GW Parkway. Apparently I have a thing for parkways. (Then again, apparently so does DC. This city is rife with parkways.) But there’s a stretch (that’s mostly under construction right about now) that takes you from National Airport to the GW bridge (also something that I will miss) that parallels the Potomac. You’re on the Virginia side, and the view as it stretches across water is of the monuments, each in a row down the line. Magnificent, day or night.
  8. Vace Deli. Best. Frozen. Lasagna. Also, Best. Pizza. Dough. It is because of Vace that I concocted one of the Tuesday Night Dinner favorites, “The Classic” pizza with tomato, fresh mozz, and prosciutto.
  9. Wegmans. It is, far and away, the best grocery store in the universe, and they just opened one up about 30 minutes from my apartment. And if you think I won’t drive 30 minutes to do my grocery shopping, then you clearly do not know me at all. My only stipulation is that I’m allowed to eat lunch in the café before or after shopping. I can’t help it. I love their Asian bar.
  10. My roofdeck. Okay, so it’s not mine alone, technically any resident can partake of its wonder. But people don’t often go up there. I, however, frequented the roofdeck enough in the warmer months for my share as well as that of the entire fifth and fourth floor residents. I love the view that stretches out in front of you, like you’re sitting on top of the city.

10 Things I Won’t Miss About DC:

  1. Walking to the metro. Do you know how many bags and other sundry items I carry with me on a daily basis? My average is 5.64. Plus, I am a sweat-er. The littlest movement and I’m perspiring, which is just uncomfortable when you’re trying not to be sweaty. Add eleventymillion bags and that equals not cool.
  2. People who don’t know how to drive. Specifically, merge onto an expressway. Seriously, people? Are you waiting for a goddamned engraved invitation?
  3. My apartment. Damn, this place is small.
  4. Arlington. I’m sorry, Arlingtonites. I really am. But I get lost every fucking time I go there. I like Old Town, though. Does that count for something?
  5. Alarmist weather behavior. Listen, I know this metropolitan area does not have the resources to handle bad weather (see: Snowpacolypse 2010). I get it. But I rejoice in the day when I wake up to a half inch of snow and turn on my local NPR station and do not have to listen to 15 minutes of school delays and/or closings.
  6. Cupcakes. I’m over it. This city is saturated with cupcakeries. Please pass me a bag of chips.
  7. The Redskins. Holy Christ, listen, Redskins fans: your team sucks. Accept it. Give up the ghost, you’re not going to be good for a very long time. Trust me, I’m a Bears fan, I know these things. Sure, we’ve had a pretty good team lately, but there was a span of many several years when we sucked beyond sucking.
  8. Lack of good gyros. It’s probably a good thing that I’ve lived this long without easy access to perfectly seasoned, compressed lamb meat hot off the spit and wrapped in a warm, buttered pita then slathered with tangy tzatziki sauce. But really, it’s not something a girl can go without forever, and after the past few trips home, well, DC, you just don’t compare, or even come close, to Munster Gyro.
  9. Having separate grocery and liquor stores. It’s inconvenient. Period. I look forward to one-stop-shopping at The Jewel or Chez Dominick’s.
  10. People who wear hats, gloves, and scarves when it’s 50 degrees out. It’s not that fucking cold. Grow a pair.
3 Responses to “10 things about dc, or: i’ll miss you, our nation’s capital, except when i won’t”

  1. Steph March 9, 2011 at 12:07 PM #

    Great list! I love the GW parkway too. I do not share your love for the metro, but it is a necessary evil.

    What did Arlington ever do to you? (Kidding, I totally get it).

    I think it might be fun to revisit this list in a few months and see if anything has changed.

  2. Betsy Cornett March 9, 2011 at 10:51 PM #

    Wegmans For The Win!!

    • mollystrz March 10, 2011 at 9:08 AM #

      I weep for my Wegman’s loss. Sigh.

Leave a Reply

