photo friday: oh, by the weight…

4 Feb

If there’s one thing you should know about Morocco, it is that they love them some pottery.

Let me rephrase that: they know that the tourists love them some pottery, would be more accurate.

Smart ones, those Moroccans. I essentially bought my weight in various and sundry pottery pieces: bowls, platters, a tagine….all for the low, low price of $2.49. Alright, maybe not that low, but damn near close in dirhams.

Because everyone knows that dirhams aren’t real money!

Until you get your bank statement!

And then you’re like, “Oh shit! I cocked up the math on that exchange rate!”

But then you realize, “At least I have my pottery to keep me warm. Or at least well-prepared to have a fabulous dinner party.”

 

2 Responses to “photo friday: oh, by the weight…”

  1. The Swede February 4, 2011 at 10:03 AM #

    I’ve got one of those little tajines sitting on the table in front of me. The big question was what to do with it.

    It would, I suspect, be a great desktop container for illicit materials of the smokeable or snortable variety.

    But, that’s never really been my cup of tea.

    So…. I filled mine with sea salt. And am most stoked about it. Huzzah for pottery!

    • Katie February 6, 2011 at 1:41 PM #

      love the picture!

Leave a Reply

