it’s what’s for dinner

31 Jan

I find, when traveling, it’s always best to try and cross Life or New Years Goals off your list at the same time.

Okay, that’s pretty much a load of bullshit. Half the time when I travel it’s all I can do to figure out what g-d time zone I’m in and what currency I should be using. And considering my recent trip to Morocco was the first time I’ve been out of the country in 12 years, that’s really saying something. Nothing good, of course, but at least it’s something.

Or something.

Surprisingly, I managed to use the correct currency on this trip, though the time zone thing—and time in general—eluded me most of the time I was in Africa, seeing as how I don’t wear a watch, my cell phone wasn’t working, and it seems that Morocco is not really a country that is preoccupied with making sure clocks are readily visible.

But back to my point: I managed to cross off one of my goals for this year, which was to eat one new meat.

(Also, credit for placing this goal on the list in the first place goes to The Swede, because it was actually something on his list that I liked so much that I adopted it to my own list.)

After we’d toured a couple of places outside the Fes medina, we headed a short way through the winding, crowded streets to Café Clock, which I’d been told was THE place for camel burgers. The restaurant was down a dark, narrow alley, which I didn’t think would bode well in the end, but it, in fact, did. The restaurant stretched up, up, up, and we climbed to the top, picking a table on the roofdeck in the shade.

Turner wanted nothing to do with the camel burger except to take pictures of me eating it.

Which is good, because when you accomplish a goal there should always be photographic proof whenever possible.


And you should look happy while doing it too, dammit.

Truth: Camel burgers taste very similar to lamb, IMHO. And This Girl loves her some lamb. And now camel, apparently.

I ate the whole thing.

Though next time, I’d do without the “Taza ketchup” (the jam-looking dollop on top, which was sweet and made of…I have no idea what).

One new meat? Check.

2 Responses to “it’s what’s for dinner”

  1. Steph January 31, 2011 at 10:56 AM #

    I am impressed! Although, I told Bogdan about this and he was really upset about the “poor” camel.

  2. Robyn January 31, 2011 at 3:17 PM #

    I’m super happy for you, but I’m still totally grossed out.

Leave a Reply

