deprivation

26 Jan

Before I left on my trip to Morocco, a veritable snowstorm of emails went back and forth between my friend Turner and me.

Should I bring a hair dryer?

What kind of clothes can I or can’t I wear?

Do people still use travelers checks?

What do I do if I get arrested on the plane?

Do you want me to bring anything from the States?

“No,” she replied, “I have a hair dryer, and two curling irons. Cover your neck, use your ATM and credit card, tell them you’re coming to see Mr. Chris who is posted here, and our address is XYZ something something Rabat.”

“And,” she continued, “if you happened to find yourself at Trader Joe’s, we’re dying for their masala sauce. But I know it would be messy if it broke, so I totally understand if you don’t want to bring it.”

Only one? I don’t think so.

No one should be without Trader Joe’s jarred sauces. Not even if they live halfway around the world.

2 Responses to “deprivation”

  1. Felice February 7, 2011 at 1:13 AM #

    No amount of begging and pleading has convinced Trader Joe’s to open here as yet. I keep telling them that they already have the Hawaii theme established, so why wait? I think they just know me as the crazy Haole from Hawaii. Yet they keep sending me emails to tease me about their products. This sauce does look like it could become quite addictive.

    • mollystrz February 7, 2011 at 10:58 AM #

      Then obviously there is only one thing to do: send me your address and I’ll ship you a few jars!

Leave a Reply

