listical

8 Dec

I love this time of year because it means all sorts of lists.

And damn do I love a good list. Christmas lists, book lists, grocery shopping lists, give me a list and I’m all the freak over it. I especially love the lists that magazines and newspapers and VH1 put together on the top events over the last 12 months, because I love remembering all the things that I’ve forgotten happened 11.8 months ago.

(And that is often a lot.)

(Hell, I’ve already forgotten what happened 11.8 seconds ago.)

(What?)

(Right.)

(Anyway.)

What I wonder is if these news/entertainment outlets keep track of these things throughout the year? Like maybe they have a pad of paper next to their computers, or a big bulletin board in the conference room where they jot down major events throughout the year, or funny sayings, or dumb quotes, or maybe just a Ziggy cartoon they found particularly inspirational. (Sadly, Ziggy does not often make any of these lists, does he? Poor Ziggy.) This, of course, would be the smart thing to do, but probably if I were in charge of putting one of these lists together, this time of year would be a flurried frenzy of research trying to remember what the shit happened in March.

Of course, I’m all about making my own lists this time of year. I just checked out the goal list I set for 2010, and I’m happy to report that I accomplished very few of my goals I’d stated before you all. That sprint-tri I was aiming for? Never happened. It vaguely crossed my mind on occasion, but I never put on my big girl chonies to try and make a play at that one, let’s be honest. Though on the other hand, of the 5, 8 and 10Ks I wanted to run this year, I did run the 8K, and this Sunday I’m running a 10K.

(I say two out of three ain’t bad.)

AND ALSO, I accomplished with flying colors my goal of visiting two new states: Delaware and Alaska.

WOOT!

Looking ahead to 2011, I don’t really have anything that most people would find all that interesting on my Goal List, unless you are a runner or a traveler, in which case I will tell you that I have a goal of running a half-marathon in 2011* (which of course is something I said I’d never do, that I’d only ever do as much as a 10K), and a goal of visiting two new states. But other than that it’s a lot of projects that require a lot of discipline, projects I want to throw myself into and projects which frankly aren’t interesting now but certainly could be at a later time.

Which is kind of depressing. I feel this list…this list lacks the fun.

And 2011 cannot lack the fun.

It goes against my nature.

So I’m opening up the floor to suggestions. What fun and adventurous things should I strive for in 2011? If I take your suggestion and actually follow through with it, there’s a batch of my oatmeal chocolate chip cookies in it for you…..

 

*What the shit am I thinking?

 

4 Responses to “listical”

  1. Jennifer Pemberton December 8, 2010 at 9:38 AM #

    For 2011: purchase one of every kind of bra stocked by Bra La La!

    • mollystrz December 8, 2010 at 10:21 AM #

      Ha! I like it!

  2. Cassie December 8, 2010 at 11:17 AM #

    Well, March is easy. Charlie was born. 🙂 What? Isn’t that significant for you?

    A half marathon is a good thing to run once. There’s no need to do it more than once, and no one needs to run a marathon. It’s insane.

  3. Steph December 8, 2010 at 2:37 PM #

    I say put the tri back on the list. I think I’m going to do one in 2011 (the one I tried to do this year but filled up before I could register).

Leave a Reply

