self-portrait

17 Nov

The fun thing about taking pictures….well, actually, there are lots of fun things about taking pictures. I think, anyway. Some of you might disagree. Some of you might think there are many fun things about calculus. Or crocheting. In which case I would have to disagree.

But frankly, we’re not talking about you, we’re talking about me. And I think there are many fun things about taking photographs.

Are we all clear? Good.

Now, I don’t normally enjoy having my picture taken, which is why, for the first eight months of my nephew’s life, for example, I have 1,782 photographs of the little chicken nugget on his own, or being held by one or both of his parents, or his grandparents, or his Bitches of Eastwick*, or…you get the idea. And out of those 1,782 photographs, there are approximately five of him with me. I don’t think I photograph very well, so I’m pretty okay with all of this. I’d much rather take photos of others.

But then you have some time to kill while your main squeeze is off running through the streets of Chicago with 45,000 other people, and while Chicago architecture is lovely, there are only so many photographs you can take of it before it could all be made out of marshmallows and cheesy poofs for how much you care to look at another g-d building.

At which point it becomes time for self-portraits.

Which is where the fun comes in.

Like with early morning light, that makes you look gargantuanly tall, with legs as long as stilts.

Heh.


And then maybe you move over to The Bean, which you surprisingly have never actually visited.


And you start snapping away, being careful to remind yourself that no, you really do not look like that in real life, that in fact buildings cannot bend like that, lest all the little papers continually fly off of the office workers’ desks.


Nothing would ever get done with buildings that constantly tipped papers from the inbox to the trash can! Though maybe, in some cases, that might actually be helpful to an office?

Hard to say.

But I will say this: taking photos is fun.


*That would be the term I used to describe my two sisters and me, because “aunts” just sounds so boring. And let’s face it, we can all be a little bitchy sometimes. But please keep in mind I love my sisters very, very much, and use this term lovingly and jokingly and okayfineyou’renotbitches,I’mtheassholehere.

 

3 Responses to “self-portrait”

  1. Megan (Best of Fates) November 17, 2010 at 1:27 PM #

    Ah, what it took for me was touring Paris alone. And I realized – well, nobody else here, guess I should take some pictures of myself.

    Then it just never stopped.

  2. Steph November 17, 2010 at 3:20 PM #

    You had never been to the bean before? Crazy! You have very artsy self portraits. (And on another note I think you actually do photograph well).

  3. Nanchan November 18, 2010 at 10:48 AM #

    Bitches of Eastwick is hilarious. Don’t take away the bitch, bitch!

Leave a Reply

