no photos for you: potato leek soup

27 Oct

I was a little bummed when I started this post, because I realized that I had no photos to show you the step-by-step process, or the finished product. But then I had a talk with myself and said, “Self, nobody wants to see photos of potato-leek soup anyway. It’s the blandest, pastiest most blah-looking soup on the face of the planet. It is even whiter than you. And that is really saying something.”

And I was all, “Yes, but Self, it tasted so good!”

And then I was all, “But Self, seriously. Get a grip. Those photos would have been fugly.”

And so I was all, “Fine.”

And then I was all, “You know, I can just show everyone a semi-artsy picture of a pumpkin instead, because it’s almost Halloween.”

And I responded, “Good idea.”

So here’s a semi-artsy picture of a pumpkin, taken last weekend at a pumpkin “farm” just north of Baltimore, in honor of the upcoming Halloween holiday.

And here’s the recipe for potato-leek soup, which I made as part of my cookbook club this month, because Yours! Truly! got to pick the recipes, and then promptly only made ONE of them.

But lo! How it was a good one to make. This soup is stupidly easy, and it might seem a little odd at first, but trust me, follow the directions and you won’t be disappointed. And even better, it’s one of those soups that gets better when it’s been in the fridge for a day or so. Like chili.

Mmmm…chili.

Sorry.

Soup!

The recipe. Here you go:

Potato-Leek Soup from Not Your Mother’s Slow Cooker

4 medium-size leeks (white part only), washed well and thinly sliced (about 4 cups)

4 medium-size to large russet potatoes, peeled and diced

4 to 6 cups of water or vegetable or chicken broth

Salt to taste

2 tablespoons unsalted butter

French bread for serving

  1. Put leeks and potatoes in the slow cooker. Add enough water or broth to just cover them. Cover and cook on low until the potatoes are tender, 5 to 7 hours.
  2. Puree the soup with a handheld immersion blender or transfer to a food processor or blender and puree in batches. Add the salt and the butter, swirling until it is melted. Ladle the hot soup into bowls and serve immediately with French bread.

Variation: Pea and Watercress Potato-Leek Soup

Follow the recipe as directed. One hour before the soup is done, add the leaves and tender stems of 1 bunch of watercress and one 12-ounce package of frozen petite peas, thawed, to the crockpot and cover. When done, puree the soup and serve immediately; it will become dull as it sits. We never strain this, we love the bits of green vegetables.

I didn’t make the chicken and rice casserole, though I’m sorry to say that my friend Anastasia did, and it didn’t go over swimmingly. So chances that I will make it? Slim to none.

I wonder what’s cookin’ next month?

3 Responses to “no photos for you: potato leek soup”

  1. Cassie October 27, 2010 at 9:33 AM #

    Please pretend this comment is anonymous: What’s a leek?

    • mollystrz October 27, 2010 at 9:53 AM #

      Who are you? And why are you asking about leeks? What?

      A leek is like a big, fat green onion. They’re delicious.

  2. Steph October 27, 2010 at 10:02 AM #

    I didn’t make the soup *yet!* But I most definitely will.

    I love the picture of the pumpkin so much that I didn’t even notice the lack of photo of the soup. Soup is not photogenic, I agree.

    I think you might want to try the casserole. My sister and I enjoyed it and have some good suggestions for substitutes/additions on making it better. Check ’em out. (http://stephandbogdan.blogspot.com/2010/10/october-recipe-cookbook-club-review.html)

Leave a Reply

