csb cake october: pumpkin chocolate chip poundcake

20 Oct

I totally fell off the baking loop the last half of the most recent season of the Cake Slice Bakers.

I’m sorry.

I don’t know what got into me, really. It wasn’t just the CSB, there was a dearth of baking all around. Trust me, I know. I was the one doing the non-baking. I was the one who had to listen to The Swede lament the fact that there was a lot of non-baking going on.

But I’m happy to tell you that the next season of CSB is premiering…right now.

We’ve got a new book, new recipes, and I’ve got a new attitude toward the oven. Particularly because it’s fall an—with the exception of a few days recently—not ungodly hot out. Plus, this recipe involved pumpkin, and let’s face it, pumpkin = fall. Don’t try and disagree with me. It won’t work. I’m right on this one. I know it.


And what better way to get back on the CSB lineup than with a cake that DOES NOT REQUIRE FROSTING? I know it’s been awhile, but need I remind you about my frosting issues?

I know!

I peed in my chonies a little in excitement over no frosting, too!

Now, I’m not saying it’s imperative, but to kick of this season of baking, I’m just saying you might want to seriously consider matching your Kitchenaid mixer to whatever it is you’re baking. Ergo, I used an orange one for this pumpkin chocolate chip poundcake recipe, and I think that little touch really added something to the final product.

Or, you know, The Swede just happens to have a Texas-orange mixer that I like to use any chance I get.


Whatever.

I’d give you a step-by-step overview of how I made this poundcake, but let me tell you something: A) You’re all smart people, and you can read for yourselves the instructions at the end of this post. 2) It’s not that freaking hard. To be honest, I’m pretty sure that if you took all the ingredients and dumped them in at the same time and mixed it all around then dumped it in a pan and threw it in the oven it would come out just the same.


I say this because I actually made this poundcake twice, and the second time I pretty much went the “Toss it all in willy-nilly!” route and it was quite tasty.

Though I did forget to add the milk.

And I pulled it out of the oven before it was finished baking because I thought it had finished baking and the top was starting to get a little too crispy for my liking and the knife came out pretty clean. Using my powers of deduction, this would make for a done cake.

Am the poundcake whisperer!

Except that when I sliced into half the goddamned cake oozed out the middle.

So I yelled ‘fuck’ a lot then quickly scooped up the two halves and arranged them back in the loaf pan and shoved the lot back in the oven.

And when I pulled the cake out again it was baked through. THANKFULLY. It was not what you would call sliceable, but neither I nor The Swede have ever had any problem eating poundcake in chunk and glob form.

And it tasted just as good as the much-neater first version.

Though now that I think about it, that one got a little too brown on top for my liking as well.


And it didn’t slice up very easily, either.

But that may have had something to do with the fact that neither The Swede nor I waited until the poundcake was what one might call “completely cooled.”

I mean, we weren’t scalding our tongues on hot, melted chocolate chips or anything, but the loaf was definitely still warm.

Are you supposed to eat poundcake any other way? When it’s not warm? Is that wrong?

If I’m wrong, I don’t want to be right.

Because it was delicious.


Here’s the recipe, which I highly recommend trying.

*Note: I left out the walnuts on both loaves, because, well, I don’t really like walnuts. And if I don’t want to add nuts to my cake, then I’m not going to, dammit! Ha haaaaa! I said nuts!


October’s Cake: Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Pound Cake
(Recipe from Cake Keeper Cakes by Lauren Chattman)
Ingredients
1¾ cups all purpose flour
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp baking powder
1 tsp ground cinnamon
½ tsp salt
¼ tsp ground cloves
Pinch nutmeg
½ cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, softened
1¼ cups sugar
3 eggs
1 cup canned pumpkin puree
1 tsp vanilla extract
1/3 cup milk
1 cup semisweet chocolate chips
1 cup chopped walnuts

Method
Heat the oven to 350F. Coat the inside of a 9 x 5 inch loaf pan with nonstick cooking spray and dust with flour.
Combine the flour, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon, salt, cloves and nutmeg in a medium mixing bowl.
Combine the butter and sugar in a large mixing bowl and cream with an electric mixer on medium high speed until fluffy, about 3 minutes, scraping down the sides of the bowl once or twice as necessary.
With the mixer on medium low speed, add the eggs, one at a time, scraping down the sides of the bowl after each addition. Stir in the pumpkin puree and vanilla. Stir in the milk.
Turn the mixer to low speed and add the flour mixture, ½ cup at a time, scraping down the sides of the bowl after each addition. Stir in the chocolate chips and walnuts.
Scrape the batter into the prepared pan and smooth the top with a rubber spatula. Bake the cake until it is firm to the touch and a toothpick inserted in the centre comes out clean, 55 minutes to 1 hour. Let the cake cool in the pan for 5 minutes, invert it onto a wire rack and then turn it right side up on a rack to cool completely.
Store uneaten cake in a cake keeper at room temperature for up to 3 days or in the refrigerator, wrapped in plastic for up to 1 week.

 

*See how other CSBers fared by checking out their blogs!

 

16 Responses to “csb cake october: pumpkin chocolate chip poundcake”

  1. Leigh October 20, 2010 at 7:46 AM #

    The fact that the Swede has a Texas orange Kitchenaid may have just made my day! 🙂 Thank you.

  2. Brownieville Girl October 20, 2010 at 11:04 AM #

    I laughed at matching your mixer to the mix!!!!

    Not sure if I’d fancy a mixer the colour of some of my creations!!!!

    • mollystrz October 21, 2010 at 7:23 AM #

      True! It would be very awkward if you had, say, a chrome mixer. Would you really want to eat something that is chrome-colored? That’d be like eating a blue vegetable.

  3. Evelyn October 20, 2010 at 12:53 PM #

    I am fairly certain your cake slice blog post has been my favorite thus far! I too have issues waiting until things are cooled.

  4. Anna October 20, 2010 at 2:34 PM #

    OK< so I laughed out loud all the way through this post! Great post, great mixer!

  5. Maranda October 20, 2010 at 7:26 PM #

    LMAO!!! OMG I love this post. Not only for the fact that you used the word “chonies” (which I never hear outside of my household or The Hubble’s family but also because you said ‘fuck’ a lot. Oh, and the fact that you didn’t wait until the cake was completely cooled. I definitely burned appendages trying to slice mine! Oh…and the mixer!! Love the mixer! And thanks to you…I remembered that I left the addition of the milk out of my post. I need to go correct that now! LOL! Great job on the cake and it’s nice to have you back…even though I’m a new member and have never baked with you before. But you get my meaning I’m sure. 😉

    • mollystrz October 21, 2010 at 7:24 AM #

      I’ve done a straw poll of these comments, and I’ve come to the conclusion that milk? TOTALLY NOT NECESSARY FOR THIS RECIPE, APPARENTLY. I think about half of us left it out! Heh.

      And you have no idea how thrilled–THRILLED!–I am to hear that I’m not the only one to use the word chonies! Love it!

  6. Felice October 20, 2010 at 7:53 PM #

    I absolutely loved your post. I could not stop laughing, especially when you took the cake out of the oven and it was not cooked (yep, that has happened to me too a few times – I think I said the same thing you did). It was a great cake.

    • mollystrz October 21, 2010 at 7:26 AM #

      OMG, Felice, it was a nightmare. Seriously. The Swede was very confused particularly because I was all, “Yay! More cake!” and then was all, “Wah-wahhhhh NO CAKE,” and all the poor guy wanted was some cake and I kept making him wait for it. But even we will not eat oozy cake. BOOZY cake, yes, but not oozy cake.

  7. Katie October 21, 2010 at 1:13 AM #

    Your cake looks yummy, especially all how and crumbly from the oven. I LOVE your orange kitchen aid!! I like that this cake was frostingless too

  8. CarolineAdobo October 21, 2010 at 4:18 AM #

    I didn’t bake much from the other book, too but excited about this new book. I love your awesome orange KA mixer, I have a boring white one (but I shouldn’t complain, I got it in an estate sale for only $30) 🙂
    I baked this twice as well & forgot to add milk. I just remembered after reading your post LOL

    • mollystrz October 21, 2010 at 7:27 AM #

      Apparently I need to shop estate sales more often! That’s a STEAL for a mixer!

  9. Monica H October 21, 2010 at 6:28 PM #

    You always crack me up Molly! I love that you said “chonies” in your pumpkin pound cake post- I say chonies too 🙂

    Even though I sliced my cake when it was completley cooled, it was still tough to get a clean slice. It was delicious though and that’s all that matters!

  10. Elle October 22, 2010 at 6:10 PM #

    Yay for eating it while still warm…make that HOT! Love your enthusiasms and the great looking cake.

  11. Leslie Limon October 24, 2010 at 11:14 PM #

    You had me at chonies with this post! 🙂 It’s a very popular word in my house! 🙂

    And I am so jealous that your mixer matched the cake!

    Glad you’re back on the baking wagon! 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. from the file pit: chocolate poundcake | McPolish.com - August 19, 2015

    […] baked goods hardly turn out well for me. They’re either raw in the middle, burned on the top or bottom, and in general are a disaster. And not even a good disaster that I could take and reformat into a […]

Leave a Reply

