and i do my little turn on the catwalk

5 Oct

The photography workshop I was taking is now over, which means I get my Wednesday nights back.

It’s weird—the class was only four weeks long, so really it was only four Wednesdays that I had a commitment to be someplace, but now that it’s over, it’s all, “HFS, THIS IS THE GREATEST THING EVER! I CAN…YOU KNOW…DO STUFF ON WEDNESDAYS NOW!”

You’d have thought I’d been taking a photo workshop every Wednesday night for four years.

Time, and commitments, can be weird like that.

In our last class, since we didn’t get to have a fieldtrip, we worked on lighting, and working with a tripod. Our model subject was a bottle of wine.

I don’t know about you, but I can’t think of a better subject.

(Unfortunately, we did not get to drink said subject afterwards, but I did have my own glass at a Greek joint down the street when class ended. It’s a celebration, bitches.)

We also worked on taking portraits, which may be my most favorite thing we did in the four weeks. We each sat and acted as the subject, pulling out our best Senior High School Portrait poses, though alas, we were lacking the softly glowing gold background and mirror underneath, reflecting softly glowing gold into our shining faces. Also missing? My high school class ring. Everyone knows that you can’t have a senior class portrait without a class ring. And mine was at home.

I think.

Actually, I wonder where is my high school class ring?

Huh.

Anyway, wine. Wine is a great subject. And tripods are awesome. I need to get me one of them.


Seriously, I’m not sure how I ever shot…anything…without a tripod before. It was so freeing (despite being a bit cumbersome to move around)! It was a whole new world!


And working with a lighting…thing…underneath (thinking maybe I should have paid closer attention during class? STORY OF MY LIFE) was just so, so cool.


I know. I’m sorry. I can’t help but geek out over all of this. It wasn’t like the class was super magical and more special than gold-plated unicorn poop, but I did pick up a few things. And those things are little things, but they’ve helped me understand my hobby that much better, and that’s just such a satisfying feeling.

And before you can ask, no, I will not be sharing the portrait photos of me. Because unlike when I was a senior in high school, I’d forgotten to don my peachy-pink lipstick and pale pink eyeshadow. (Thankfully? Not thankfully? Hard to say.) There would have to be some major Photoshopping done before those pictures can be put on display for public consumption. Is all I’m saying.

Though my friend Emily did snap this one of me when we were working on the portraits, so that will have to suffice. (And no, I’m not 13 feet tall, I’m standing on a chair. And that guy in the background is our instructor.)

2 Responses to “and i do my little turn on the catwalk”

  1. Emily - THAT Emily October 5, 2010 at 5:16 PM #

    Though I like the one of you with the rose better. 😉

  2. Steph October 6, 2010 at 10:06 AM #

    Where can I get me one of those “lighting things underneath”?

    I could spend hours shooting food with one of those things. Our dinner will be cold, but I’ll have great photos.

Leave a Reply

