in the dark

8 Sep

When you live in a big, metropolitan city, things tend to fall through the cracks. Like, touristy things. For example, I was born and raised outside of Chicago, and lived there (except for when I went to school in Indiana, and studied abroad for a year in Rome) my entire life until I moved here to DC five years ago. And in those 26 years, I think I visited the Sears Tower twice.

And that’s being generous.

It may actually have only been once.

My memory. It ain’t so good.

When I first moved out here to DC, I did go around and do touristy things, partly because I wanted to discover my new city, and partly because I figured it would help me learn my way around. (And I was right, it did, kind of. But what helped more was getting lost driving to and from the airport on numerous occasions, getting lost on Rock Creek Parkway, and overall getting lost in various neighborhoods in attempts to avoid traffic.) I also knocked off quite a few venues when friends and family came to visit, but my touring adventures have since tapered off. (Which may or may not have to do with the fact that I put a moratorium on visiting the monuments and Mt. Vernon [MOTHER].)

But when the girls were in town this weekend, we decided that we’d do some wandering about the city, haphazardly seeing what we’d see, though we did make a conscious decision to visit the monuments at night.

Or, as Anne said, we went to see the monuments in the dark.

For some reason, that struck me as particularly funny.

I may have been drinking.

What?

Right! Monuments in the dark!

After dinner on Saturday night at Luigi’s, we strolled down to the Smithsonian and walked the stretch between the Washington Monument and the Lincoln Memorial. For all the times I’ve driven around DC at night, along the Potomac, or cutting down 14th Street, I’ve caught glimpses of these lovely structures, bright and bold and lit up against the black sky, but I’ve never gone to see them up close.

I might just have to lift my monument moratorium.

At least in the dark.

5 Responses to “in the dark”

  1. Anne September 8, 2010 at 9:50 AM #

    This is a labor of love right here.

  2. calliope September 8, 2010 at 10:32 AM #

    wow!! beautiful photos. For some reason the darkness makes it seem more majestic. Which is ironic because of that whole democracy thing and all…

    We so need to plan a DC photo nerd-a-thon get together thingamajg.

    • mollystrz September 8, 2010 at 11:26 AM #

      OMG, AWESOME idea. I’d totally be in. Sidenote, I’m starting a photography workshop at Washington School of Photography tonight, and I’m totally geeked out about it. I can’t help myself.

  3. Steph September 8, 2010 at 4:16 PM #

    Abe is looking pretty awesome in that photo. I need to do the monuments in dark one of these days!

  4. Megan (Best of Fates) September 14, 2010 at 3:23 PM #

    Gorgeous – I haven’t gone to see the monuments at night since high school.

    And despite the fact that I’ve lived in Northern VA basically my entire life, I’ve never been to the top of the Washington Monument.

    Ever.

    It’s the procrastinator in me.

Leave a Reply

