photo friday: words

27 Aug

As an editor and a writer, I’m surrounded by words all day every day. I can’t, for the life of me, think of a time when I can ever escape them—reading them, seeing through them, picturing them in my sleep. It is not possible to escape. I couldn’t pick just one word to tell you about for this week’s Photo Friday, so I figured a collection of vignettes might do me better.

#1: Remember that whole ridiculous lip issue/allergist trip I’ve been dealing with? Yeah, it’s still not completely 100% back to the awesomeness that used to be my upper lip, but for a short time now, I’ve at least been able to keep its angry redness to a minimum. (Unless I go and do something stupid like, oh, I don’t know, accidentally rub sunscreen on that area of my face. Come age 92, my face will be perfectly smooth and spotless—thank you, SPF 70—except for the area above my lip which will be more wrinkled and puckered than a 2-pack-a-day smoker’s.)

The redness management has been due mostly in part of me ganking this tub of Eucerin from my parents’ house. It’s been there for approximately eight years, but let me tell you a little something about Eucerin: it is magical white cream. When I was little, I used to get really dry skin behind the ears and on the bottoms of my toes. So very dry that my toes would crack and peel, exposing raw skin in the bends of my toes. In those days, Mom would slather Eucerin on my toes (and my ears, but I don’t remember that. It’s just what she tells me.) three inches thick and send me to bed. Why I got these dry patches on my toes and behind my ears it was never understood. And eventually, I just grew out of it, I guess.

Huh. Maybe this upper lip thing is something similar? I don’t know why I didn’t put 2 and 2 together before.

Eucerin  = magic

The end.


#2: Everyone Needs a Julie got married recently, and while that’s always a provoker of change in friendships, what is more traumatizing to me is that she moved a mile away. Did you read that? A MILE. Now it takes me like, 15 MINUTES to get to her house, rather than the five it took me to wander across the street. My heart is broken. I have the woe. I may be coming down with a touch of the ennui. I used to be able to pop over even if I was still in my pajamas! I can’t hop on the L2 bus if I’m in my pajamas! Well, I could, but it would be awkward for so many people. What if I had to stop in Cal-Tort to pick up some nachos?

Thankfully, she left me with this poster to remember her by.

Or maybe just because her husband didn’t want it in the new apartment.

ENAJ, you can come visit your poster any time you like.

#3: There are many things I love about The Swede, but one of the things I love most is that I will never be able to lose him.

Literally.

I just follow the trail of loose change that seems to fall out of his pockets constantly.

Months ago I discovered this characteristic about The Swede, and I said to myself, “Molly, if you get nothing else from this relationship, at least you should make some money.” So I told The Swede, “Listen, I do love that if you ever get lost in the woods or the Safeway or something I will always be able to find you because I can just follow the loose change trail you leave, but if you’re not going to bother picking these coins up, I will. And I’m going to keep them all and take myself to Costa Rica.”

“Can I come?” The Swede asked.

“No. I’m the one doing all the work of picking up these coins, so I’m taking myself. Besides, you’ve already been, and I never have,” I replied.

“But technically it’s my money,” The Swede pointed out.

I like to flagrantly ignore that aspect of the conversation, and have since started picking up coins that fall about and yelling, “Costa Rica!” while holding the coins high in the air. The Swede does not find this annoying at all.

Since I can’t leave my newfound monies lying about, I’m corralling them in a jar for safe keeping. As of right now, I have $2.88. I am planning my Costa Rican getaway for 2098.

Head on over to Calliope’s blog to see what other Photo Fridayers have to say about words!

6 Responses to “photo friday: words”

  1. somethingnewplease August 27, 2010 at 12:44 AM #

    As I skim the various blog pages under the writing tag this morning (is 1:42 am morning?) I can’t help but grin as I think “Eucerin = magic” and wonder if a children’s magician could convince a birthday party of that.

    Again, it is 1:42 am though…

    Well entertained,

    D.

  2. Lolly August 27, 2010 at 8:23 AM #

    You are absolutely enchanting! I always love your photos and related tales!

    • mollystrz August 27, 2010 at 1:20 PM #

      Lolly, you make me blush!

  3. Steph August 27, 2010 at 9:34 AM #

    Um hold up, when did you get this fancy redesign? I like it!

    Love the pictures and the descriptions. I would think selecting only one picture of “words” would be difficult for me too—I’m surprised you could narrow it down to three! 😉

    • mollystrz August 27, 2010 at 1:20 PM #

      Just the other day! Was playing around with new WP themes. 🙂 And yes, I had about 700 more words I debated using, but ultimately did not want to put readers to sleep. Rest assured however, that it was a very Sophie’s Choice moment for me.

  4. Care August 27, 2010 at 10:55 PM #

    Popping in from Cali’s photo friday post – I was intrigued by the “Costa Rica, bitches” and had to see what it was all about. 🙂 I went to Costa Rica two years ago, and unless I can convince my children to give me their spare change (ha!) probably won’t make it back…but loved it there. The Eucerin pic struck a cord with me too – have a 9 year old with severe eczema. In our house it’s Vanicream – gobs and gobs and gobs of it, in big ole tubs just like the Eucerin.

Leave a Reply

