photo friday: play

30 Jul

I spent the past week in Chicago visiting family, running around like a crazy woman between meet-ups and events (as always happens), eating pizza (a must happen), and just generally not really so much having a vacation, more like just being not in DC for awhile.

Which is always kind of nice.

If not just as busy.

But Sunday.

Sunday I got to play. Sunday The Swede and I went down to one of his boats in Monroe Harbor. We invited friends, grabbed snacks and beers and wines, and we all converged on the Paper Tiger in the late afternoon to do little more than eat, drink, and be merry. How can one not be merry, on a boat in Monroe Harbor, the sky bright blue with puffy clouds, the most beautiful skyline in the world to your left? Even the queasiness that would rise up every so often like the waves that bobbed against the boat couldn’t ruin the good time (sea legs were a bit lacking), but we stayed out there for hours, until the sun started to set, and the moon started to rise, and the pinks and blues and gauzy whites piled on top of each other, each color vying for attention, but blending seamlessly into one another. And then the sun set entirely, and the big ass moon shone down on top of the dark lake, and the lights of the buildings along the shore lit up like bright dots clustered together, winking at the boaters still in the harbor, or coming in from a long day on Lake Michigan.

See how other Photo Fridayers play over at Calliope’s site!

12 Responses to “photo friday: play”

  1. strawberry July 30, 2010 at 8:25 AM #

    Beautiful picture.

  2. Genevieve July 30, 2010 at 8:30 AM #

    Wicked beautiful 🙂 I like playing that way 🙂

    • mollystrz July 30, 2010 at 1:19 PM #

      Right? Though I had a little trouble finding my sea-legs at first…it got better after awhile….and a couple of beers. Heh.

  3. Dora July 30, 2010 at 9:59 AM #

    Beautiful! I love boats.

  4. babysmiling July 30, 2010 at 11:58 AM #

    It looks like a postcard. Beautiful!

  5. Kristin July 30, 2010 at 12:19 PM #

    I love the picture but I love your description of it just as much. You paint such a beautiful picture with your words.

    • mollystrz July 30, 2010 at 1:19 PM #

      Oh, thank you! This makes me smile!

  6. Steph July 30, 2010 at 1:06 PM #

    Great picture, great writing. Loved it.

    P.S. Did you sing “I’m on a boat” the whole time, because I totally would have…

    • mollystrz July 30, 2010 at 1:18 PM #

      I did not, but I definitely sang the song “Sailing” by ermm….that 80s dude. Michael someone? And I possibly sang “Come sail away” by Styx. No judging. Particularly because we never left the harbor. Heh.

  7. Rahul July 30, 2010 at 1:37 PM #

    That is definitely a postcard moment. I actually heard of a pretty good site that can turn that into a postcard, print it, and send it to whomever you like. Amazingmail.com

    I almost want to use that pic because it is definitely THAT beautiful

    • mollystrz July 30, 2010 at 1:54 PM #

      Cool! I will have to check it out! Meanwhile, if you want me to send you this photo if you’re interested in using it/printing it out, shoot me an email at mcpolish1@gmail.com. Happy to send it!

  8. PFM July 31, 2010 at 7:28 AM #

    Looks like a lot of fun and relaxing.

Leave a Reply

