photo friday: unplug

23 Jul

When I saw the theme for this week’s Photo Friday, I immediately got the shakes and went into convulsions.  I don’t really know how to unplug, I thought to myself. I like to tell myself that I do, and that sometimes I can, like when I sit down on the couch and get lost in a book and then I look up and poof! Six hours have gone by, it’s dark outside, and I had absolutely no idea that anyone or anything outside of me, the pages, and the typeface existed.

But those kinds of afternoons seem to be fewer and farther between lately, and unplugging is one of those mind-body-work-HFS-lay-off-the-everything things I need to work on. Balance has never been my strong point, physically or mentally.

So I thought long and hard about it, about what I really like to do to unplug, and you know what I thought about?

I thought about how I like to go to Baltimore.

It’s less than an hour’s drive to Charm City from DC, which I think a lot of people don’t realize. Or if they do realize it, they think, “Mmm…Baltimore. Dirty. Crime-y.” But when I think of Baltimore, I think, “Oooo! Exciting restaurant scene! Some of my favorite friends to see! Family dinners! A healthy dose of non-pretentiousness!”

I’ve said it before, but I’ll say it a million times again: discovering—and falling in love with—Baltimore was probably one of the biggest surprises when I moved out to DC. I didn’t know that I’d end up doing a ton of freelance work there that would take me exploring all over the city. I couldn’t have predicted that I’d be so charmed by its character both in its beauty and in its filth. I would never have guessed that Baltimore would help shape me so much into the person I am.

So going up for a night out in Baltimore, or driving up for a Sunday Family Dinner with my girls (even though only one of them lives in Baltimore, and the rest of us come up from DC), and seeing the skyline on the horizon as you pitch off of 95 and into the Inner Harbor….yeah.

That’s one of the ways I unplug.
Don’t forget to check out Calliope’s site to see how other Photo Fridayers unplug.

15 Responses to “photo friday: unplug”

  1. strawberry July 23, 2010 at 8:25 AM #

    Great pic! You’ve been to Benjie’s Drive-in, right? 🙂

    • mollystrz July 23, 2010 at 8:31 AM #

      Thanks! And, um, NO, I’ve never been there. Tell me everything. I must know!

  2. Megan (Best of Fates) July 23, 2010 at 8:37 AM #

    I know what you mean – I love the Baltimore skyline. Even when I’m just driving up to Philly or NY, I love passing through. Though it is weird – it’s so close but almost nobody ever goes there!

    • mollystrz July 23, 2010 at 8:42 AM #

      I know! It’s very odd! I think if I hadn’t done so much work in Baltimore previously that I would probably be the same way, and never really go there.

  3. Genevieve July 23, 2010 at 8:41 AM #

    I like your explanation 🙂 And the fabulous photo! Happy Photo Friday 🙂

    • mollystrz July 23, 2010 at 8:43 AM #

      Thank you! And happy Photo Friday to YOU!

  4. chicklet July 23, 2010 at 9:49 AM #

    Your explanation makes my photo very very boring. Nice shot!

    • mollystrz July 23, 2010 at 10:46 AM #

      What? That’s crazy talk! I love the toothbrushes and your story!

  5. SooSee July 23, 2010 at 10:33 AM #

    Love the angle!! And your intro into it, makes me smile that you have a place that helps you ‘unplug’. 🙂

  6. Steph July 23, 2010 at 10:44 AM #

    I have yet to fall in love with Baltimore. But I haven’t given up yet, either.

    Is that a one-eyed Pringles dude?

    • mollystrz July 23, 2010 at 10:46 AM #

      Actually, that is Mr. Natty Boh, of Natty Boh beer.

      Don’t give up on Baltimore. You’ll be glad you didn’t. 🙂

  7. shu July 23, 2010 at 11:57 AM #

    I want to learn more about “Balti”; so far we’ve only been for an interview, a graduation, and some doc visits (plus a labyrinth walk). Just haven’t figured out the key to get IN. Want to do the Aquarium once the discounted visits start up in the cool weather 🙂

    GREAT shot!

  8. Kristin July 23, 2010 at 5:00 PM #

    What a great story.

  9. tonya cinnamon July 24, 2010 at 5:33 PM #

    pretty 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 10 things about dc, or: i’ll miss you, our nation’s capital, except when i won’t « McPolish.com - March 9, 2011

    […] city. I realize that very, very much. But if you know me at all then you know that Baltimore was one of my happiest discoveries when I moved out here, and where I met some of the most awesome in my life, and I’ll miss living so close to it. […]

Leave a Reply

