photo friday: pets

16 Jul

I’ve missed the last two weeks of Photo Fridays, and for this week’s theme, yeah…I don’t really have a good photo to show. The theme is pets, and though while in my recent life I did once have a pet, he has since passed on.

I miss you, Igs.

ANYWAY, so in place of a photo about a pet, you get a photo of a cake and a story about the woman whose cake it was, and her former pet.

As you may know, my best girl Mare is a funeral director. (See: slightly twisted, yet incredibly tasty and awesome cake at her rehearsal dinner.) She comes from a funeral business family. She also married a funeral director. Basically, it’s one big happy dealing-with-dead-folks family. Good times.

Back when she was in dead school, Mare lived in a cute little apartment that happened to be near my office. To save myself from an insane commute I’d occasionally crash at her place and we’d drink our faces off and eat pizza.

PS—remind me to tell you the story some time about how I once made her laugh so hard she barfed up a pound of Lou Malnati’s. One of my prouder moments.

So this one time, I’m over at Mare’s place, and she’s…doing I have no idea what, futzing around in her closet or something, and I’m aimlessly wandering around her bedroom picking things up on her dresser and putting them down, jewelry, knick-knacks, photos, and I notice a photo of Sammy Kravitz, Mare’s dog that she had in high school.

“Aw, Mare, this is a great photo of Sammy!” I said, picking up the photo. It was a photo box, and I twisted it around to see if there were more photos of Sammy on other sides.

“Yeah, that’s Sammy,” Mare replied.

“No, I said it’s a good picture of Sammy,” I restated.

“Yeah, and I said that is Sammy,” she repeated. I looked at her dumbly. “Sammy is in the box,” she said, nodding her head toward the square in my hands. I looked down at it, semi-grossed out, but more just what-the-fucked out.

“What?”

“Yeah, I was home a couple weeks ago and I saw that sitting on my parents’ entertainment center,” she explained. “It’s been sitting there for years and I never fuckin’ noticed.”

“Sammy’s been dead since we were in high school,” I said.

“I know!” Mare said in disbelief.

I quickly put Sammy back on her dresser and backed away. “I think I’m just going to…go..in the other room,” is probably what I said as I scuttled into the living room.

The moral of the story: be careful what you pick up on your best friend’s dresser, because pets are family,  too.

See what other Photo Friday participants are blogging about today over at Calliope’s blog! Probably something a little less…well, less.

What?

Oh, whatever. YOU have a best gal who is a funeral director and let’s see what stories YOU come up with.

Heh.

9 Responses to “photo friday: pets”

  1. Megan (Best of Fates) July 16, 2010 at 9:57 AM #

    What? Best cake ever.

    Also, I definitely wish she was my friend.

  2. blueeyedtawni July 16, 2010 at 3:10 PM #

    awesome cake!! awesome friend!:)

  3. mary July 16, 2010 at 3:53 PM #

    Ha! I am so famous now! In addition, Doug (the funeral director husband) always says that’s how he knew I officially moved in. When I brought Sammy and put her on the shelf. 🙂

    • mollystrz July 16, 2010 at 4:01 PM #

      Which reminds me, some day I will have to tell the story of Doug and the guy who wanted him to kill his cat because it was fighting with the other cat. Weirdo. (The guy, not Doug.) (Well, Doug’s a little strange sometimes, but in a fucking awesome kind of way.)

  4. mary July 16, 2010 at 3:55 PM #

    And oh shit, we are Pets are Family, Too. Wrong link. Those are not as caring people over on that other site!! I swear!

    • mollystrz July 16, 2010 at 4:00 PM #

      Dude! I’m sorry! I can’t believe I’m such an asshole! The link is fixed, and now goes to the CORRECT web site. MY BAAAAD!

  5. calliope July 17, 2010 at 4:07 PM #

    doh!!
    This is why I love Photo Friday.

    • mollystrz July 19, 2010 at 9:02 PM #

      ME. TOO. 🙂

  6. Kristin July 17, 2010 at 11:32 PM #

    What a fabulous story!

Leave a Reply

