photo friday: shoes

11 Jun

“Why do you wear heels?* You’re so tall already.”

Actually, in the summertime, I don’t. Well, I do, because I love high heels—patent leather, teal blue round-toe Mary Jane, a hot pink print on a peep toe, fire engine red, sleek, classic black, the list could go on…and on…and on…—and I wear them all year round for various occasions and outfits.

But more often than not, when the heat is on, I set my feet free and I wander about in these guys:

It’s become a ritual for me. When I was younger, every August when school started I’d get a new pair of gym shoes or general school shoes to wear for the year. Now that I’m not in school, and though I do actually need a new pair of gym shoes, now that I think about it, I always buy a pair of flip flops to wear for the summer.

Sadly, I can’t chalk the other 37 pairs of shoes in my possession up to ritual. Those other 37 pairs, there is just no excuse for them except that they’re rilly, rilly cute and I love them.  

*A question I get asked quite frequently, and a one that I consider a very silly question. Why WOULDN’T I wear heels? I don’t care about the height, have you seen how awesome they make my legs look? YES I AM THAT VAIN.

Thanks, Calliope, for another great PF theme! Visit her blog to see what other Photo Friday participants had to say (or shoot) about shoes.

15 Responses to “photo friday: shoes”

  1. Nanchan June 11, 2010 at 10:07 AM #

    This is my newest pair of shoes:
    http://www.stevemadden.com/item.aspx?id=51875&path=%7Cwomens%20shoes%7Cwomens%20platforms%7C

    • mollystrz June 11, 2010 at 1:34 PM #

      luuuurv

  2. Megan (Best of Fates) June 11, 2010 at 10:35 AM #

    I also love heels – they really do amazing things for a girl’s calves!

    • mollystrz June 11, 2010 at 10:56 AM #

      You understand me.

  3. susy June 11, 2010 at 1:11 PM #

    Oh.. flip flops! It’s ALWAYS flipflop season down here in South Florida. And I’ve tried to do the same about getting a new pair at the beginning of summer, and just don’t ever find the ‘right’ kind right at the start of summer.

    Oh.. and speaking of worn out soles.. My first attempt at photographing my shoes were w/ one upside down so you can see the bottom of the sole and how worn out they are b/c I wear them that much! I’ll work on the one I did get, but didn’t post, and will link it to you so you can see.

    😉

    • mollystrz June 11, 2010 at 1:32 PM #

      Old Navy has been my go-to the past couple summers, but before that, I was in the same predicament, could never find ones I liked.

      And yes…Show me! Show me! I wanna see the picture!

  4. niobe June 11, 2010 at 2:23 PM #

    I can never find shoes that actually fit me (except maybe in the boys’ department). sigh.

    • mollystrz June 11, 2010 at 2:33 PM #

      I have a friend who has the same problem. She often had luck at Nordstrom, I believe.

  5. Dora June 11, 2010 at 2:47 PM #

    That is ridiculous! So if tall women shouldn’t wear high heels, does that mean short women shouldn’t wear flats?

    • mollystrz June 11, 2010 at 2:51 PM #

      Right? Is ridiculous, I say.

      People also ask me, “How do you walk in those?” To which I reply, “One foot in front of the other.” Truth be told, I trip and bobble when I’m wearing flats more often than in heels. In heels if I bobble it’s because I’m just klutzy and probably stepped in a pot hole. I don’t know what my excuse is in flats.

  6. chicklet June 11, 2010 at 2:49 PM #

    These are super cute, but I love the story that goes with them more.

  7. manapan June 11, 2010 at 6:23 PM #

    Those look so comfy and well loved! I *wish* I could walk in heels.

  8. Kristin June 11, 2010 at 8:52 PM #

    I’m with chicklet. I love the story that goes with those cute flips.

  9. calliope June 12, 2010 at 10:11 AM #

    very very cute!!!
    (& have we had a height comparison yet???)
    (& could I BE any lamer about getting back to you about meeting up???)

    and now- you get to tell me what the theme will be next week!!

    • mollystrz June 12, 2010 at 10:17 AM #

      A) no, we have not had the height comparison yet, 2) You are so not lame, we will get our acts together! I swear, III) !!!!! THE PRESSUREEEEEE! OMG!!!! SQUEEEEEE!

Leave a Reply

