musicality

7 Jun

I walked to Magruder’s after work today, because it was so lovely outside, and I just  had to walk somewhere. This song came on my iPod while I was walking along and I had to share it with someone so I thought I’d share it with you.

Captain Deb first introduced me to it while I was in Alaska, pulled from the album American Folk—which, BTW, is a great album—and  I was immediately hooked. In love. Obsessed. I subsequently put the song on a mix I made for The Swede who was then also immediately hooked. In love. Obsessed. Okay, maybe not all of those, though he did recently email Shannon McNally and propose marriage to her. It might seem odd, having your main squeeze not only propose marriage to another woman, but to a woman he’s never actually met, but he did at least cc me on the email, and in truth I support this union wholeheartedly. Mainly because I want to be Shannon McNally’s friend. And by friend, I mean I want her to stand at the foot of my bed every night and sing floating, melodic songs while I fall asleep. Or maybe following behind me, singing and strumming her guitar the next time it’s lovely out and I’m walking to Magruder’s to get cheese and tomatoes and a crusty boule of bread.

Sadly I fear the dreams for both myself and The Swede won’t come true. Not any time soon, anyway, as Shannon has yet to return his email, which I’m guessing means she probably is not going to accept his marriage proposal either. Pity.

In the meantime, enjoy her voice, enjoy the music, enjoy the lovely weather, if, in fact, it’s lovely where you are. If it’s not, here’s to tomorrow, which is a new day.

5 Responses to “musicality”

  1. The Swede June 7, 2010 at 7:26 PM #

    I might need to send a follow up email. I’m not sure that I really mentioned the desirable traits I bring to the table.

    -I grill a mean salmon and am known to whip up things like day lily cheesecake that tend to make me a repeat invite at dinner parties.

    -I have nice teeth.

    -While it is true that I am not terribly good at picking up after myself, I’m big on picking people up and pushing them down.

    I mean, really, I’m something of a catch. But, how is SHE to know that. I kind of went about this thing half cocked and all, I think a more detailed missive is in order.

  2. Annie June 9, 2010 at 9:39 AM #

    this song is strangely addictive. Like potato chips. Or, crack.

    • mollystrz June 9, 2010 at 10:33 AM #

      Or maybe like kale chips? Which I hear are nothing like potato chips…

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. little lion man « McPolish.com - June 10, 2010

    […] lion man Apparently it’s Music Week here at McPolish? Maybe Music Days? Or […]

  2. when the cat’s away « McPolish.com - July 21, 2010

    […] flip open your iTunes and put on some Shannon McNally, warbling at the top of your lungs as if all the pain and suffering and pining in the world […]

Leave a Reply

