summer reading list

1 Jun

We tried to get a book club started via TNDs, and it totally took off like wildfire.

If, by taking off like wildfire you mean it took us seemingly forever to actually finish reading Forever, and the “discussion” portion of the book club consisted of us A) comparing stories of where we were when reading this book the second time around (Julie was on the metro, HO was on a plane, Scalzo was wearing off a mild hangover on her couch) and 2) being incredulous that Michael named his penis Ralph.

I mean, come on.

Ralph?

Why must dudes name their penises anyway?

It’s a valid question.

ANYWAY, let me reiterate: wildfire.

By the way, “wildfire” and “penis” are not really two words you want in the same sentence, or even very close to each other.

Just FYI.

So our attempt at book club got the wheels in my head spinning, and as those wheels mingled and conjoined with the sticky, humid air that’s been invading DC as of late, I realized it was time for a list.

A just-in-time-for-the-pool list.

A now-I’ll-know-what-to-tell-people-when-they-ask list.

An oh-my-God-it-is-too-fricocking-hot-to-do-anything-other-than-stay-inside-the-air-conditioning list.

A see-you-later-suckers-I’m-headed-on-vacay list.

The 2010 McPolish Summer Reading List!

(Applaud like wildfire now.)

(Thank you.)

I put out a call on the Facebook and on Twitter for suggestions, and thankfully, people actually responded. While I’m going to attempt to make my way through this entire list (HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAH), feel free to pick and choose any book that looks good as you please. And if you do read/have read any of these books, and enjoyed it (or hated it, for that matter), leave a comment and tell us why. Same thing goes if you have a suggestion.

And if none of these appeal to you? Then you’re dead to me. But lucky for you my friend JenPem passed along a nifty little tool, The Book Seer, which might be of better use to you. Just put in what you read last (that you liked) and it’ll pop up some more suggestions for you. (Thanks JenPem!)

And if you still can’t seem to find anything you like, my friend Ang has given me permission to print her Extremely Mondo Book List. (Seriously, I thought I was a voracious reader. I’ve got nothing on Ang. NOTHING.) Before you freak out and partially faint like I did when I read this list, be aware that this is her ongoing list for the year, not just the summer. SO WHATEVER YOU DO, DON’T FREAK OUT. DON’T FREAK OUT! OKAY!(Though seriously. The girl reads, like, eleventy million books a year. I’ve seen her past completed book lists and they are ah-stoun-ding and fill me simply with admiration and not a pinch of jealousy at her mad reading skillz.) So thank you to Ang for letting me share her list. (And also, a thank you to her Sam for scanning the list and emailing it to me.)

Read on, Interwebers. Happy summer.

*Big THANK YOU!s also to my sister Nancy, and my friends Panda, Sarah, Steph H., Karen, Julia, Renee, and Ang for the book suggestions!

 

McPolish Summer Reading List 2010

The Class – Francois Begaudeau (also a movie, it should be noted)

The Help – Kathryn Stockett

The Adventures of Kavalier and Clay – Michael Chabon

Total Waste of Makeup – Kim Gruenenfelder

Misery Loves Cabernet – Kim Gruenenfelder

The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Society – Mary Ann Shaffer

Girl With the Dragon Tattoo – Stein Larsson

Hunger Games – Suzanne Collins

The Brightest Star in the Sky ­– Marian Keyes

Ang’s List (not to be confused with Angie’s List), in multiple parts:

7 Responses to “summer reading list”

  1. The Swede June 1, 2010 at 9:15 AM #

    I greatly recommend the Hunger Games. I have a copy of it kicking around somewhere.

    Also, I do not think you need to read Olive Kitteridge. I think you should return it to its rightful reader.

    • mollystrz June 1, 2010 at 9:22 AM #

      It’s rightful reader being the library? Because it’s due back there today. Sorry, Charlie, it couldn’t be renewed this time.

  2. Steph June 1, 2010 at 10:34 AM #

    I’m not sure if it’s the same book, but on Ang’s list I saw Heart of the Matter. I read this one (the book I read is by Graham Greene) and I thought it was fascinating. Of course, I’m a huge Greene fan, because I always enjoy his views on Catholicism/Forgiveness and the lives of expatriates. I’d recommend it.

    I haven’t read any on your list. Let me know how it goes. I think I might try to read Barbara Kingsolver’s new book, Lacuna, this summer. If I can ever get it from the library. It’s pretty popular. I love her other books, and highly recommend those (like Poisonwood Bible, for example).

  3. Megan (Best of Fates) June 2, 2010 at 9:48 AM #

    I’m not sure what it says about me, but my initial response to your friend’s reading list was to be shocked she’d written in down on actual paper.

    My summer reading list consists, as always, of the piles of books around my house I’ve yet to read. One day, I’ll actually finish them all.

    Or more likely, not.

    • mollystrz June 2, 2010 at 10:17 AM #

      The stack of books I have mocks me mercilessly, particularly when I come home from the library with five new books. Like I can read 12 books in three weeks? Who do I think I am?

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. thanks a lot, ben « McPolish.com - June 29, 2010

    […] happy to announce that I’ve so far finished two books off the McPolish Summer Reading List—The Brightest Star in the Sky, by Marian Keyes, and The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie […]

  2. calling all bookies (but not those kind of bookies) « McPolish.com - May 18, 2011

    […] (And which means I’ll try to be better about this than I was last year.) […]

Leave a Reply

