photo friday: black & white

28 May

For this week’s assignment*, Calliope wanted us to get schooled in black and white photos. Be bold! she said. Be edgy! Be dramatic!

So this is what I came up with.

I did have some fun playing around with Photoshop on this one. (Sorry, Steph.) And to be truthful, this is not meant to be vulgar, it is meant to express the deep, black hole of frustration I have for Sylvia, my laptop. She is a beast sometimes. A thorn in my side with her slowness and her affinity for freezing up and freaking out at the most inopportune moments. And sometimes I want to punch her in the throat. If computers had throats.

Suck it, Sylvia, is what I often say, even though what I’m really thinking is more akin to what is expressed in the photo. I never say those words out loud to her though, lest she hear me and then really freak the F out, crashing my files left and right in retribution because computers can totally read your thoughts, yo.

*Yeah, yeah, yeah, I know I missed last week’s assignment, which was a TTV one. I couldn’t figure out the layering thing and the sizing of my photo thing, okay? I’m working on it. Don’t judge me. Well, it’s okay to judge me a little. I’m pretty incapable sometimes when it comes to these photo editing and design programs. I’m just being honest.

6 Responses to “photo friday: black & white”

  1. strawberry May 28, 2010 at 8:54 AM #

    Describes how I feel so often.

  2. Megan (Best of Fates) May 28, 2010 at 9:03 AM #

    Love it – and I’m impressed you made the screen look so awesome around your finger!

  3. Kristin May 28, 2010 at 9:04 AM #

    Love it!

  4. shu May 28, 2010 at 12:47 PM #

    Should be sold as an iconic picture!! Perfect!!
    Lolly

  5. The Urban Cowboy May 28, 2010 at 8:32 PM #

    Ha, that’s classic!

  6. calliope May 31, 2010 at 10:23 AM #

    love it!! And I still need to figure out that sizing issue- I haven’t forgotten!

Leave a Reply

